Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2005-11-09 - 10:14 p.m.
Yes, I am pro choice, and sick over it.

Head. Exploding.

Blood pressure. Skyrocketing.

Brain matter on ceiling.

I am watching PBS' Frontline "The Last Aborti0n Clinic", and I think I'm about to have a stroke. The anti choice faction in the US has just about succeeded in taking us back to pre-R0e, not by attacking R0e itself, but by coming in the back door, making obtaining an aborti0n nigh onto impossible for many women. This article in Salon explains it quite well.

I feel sick. And at this point, I could just blow off the issue, because it isn't going to be pertinent to my life. Husband is snipped, I take the pill, and if we did find ourselves pregnant, well, then, I'd consider it a definite message from The Powers That Be and move on from there. But this is INFURIATING me.

I feel powerless. I give my money to NARAL....what else can we do?

I am absolutely pro CH0ICE. And that means keep the baby, give the baby up for adoption, or choose an ab0rtion. I am NOT pro ab0rtion. But I AM pro ab0rt1on rights. Yes. Absolutely. And I am SO tired of seeing white men with their ant1 ch0ice placards. I don't think they have ever been a scared woman whose partner beats the crap outta her and can't feed the two kids she has. They've never been a high school student who doesn't want to (and shouldn't have to) pay for the rest of her life for a poor decision she made one night.

Sick. I just feel sick.

3 comments so far
Belle - 2005-11-09 23:13:06
This might be where the pro-choice folks in places like Mississippi where there's only one abortion clinic to put their money where their mouths are, and start using their time and resources to form networks that will give women rides back and forth to the clinic, free of charge.
-------------------------------
ladyloo - 2005-11-09 23:29:06
belle- I'm in Mississippi. Where is this clinic?
-------------------------------
radiogurl - 2005-11-09 23:29:57
I used to be anti-abortion; then I realized that there are worse things than aborting an unborn child. Like giving birth to a crack baby who will never have a chance at a normal life; like bringing a child into the world that was conceived by rape/incest; like bringing a child into a family where abuse is a way of life; or about a thousand other "like" scenarios. I would still prefer another alternative if a pregnancy results from irresponsibility. But I know that in this world, there are far too many other reasons to terminate a pregnancy, and the vast majority are far uglier than abortion.
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here