Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2005-11-07 - 11:08 a.m.
Island life

You know, it really is easier when I don't have friends, when I don't try to have social relationships. Because when you have interaction, you just wind up with misunderstandings, hurt feelings, misinterpretations, and general faux pas all over the place.

And part of it is my sarcasm. I make jokes, and people get hurt. I think the excuse "it was a joke, you're too sensitive" is a lame one, because if feelings are hurt, feelings are hurt. And while I can be bitey, I'm never intentionally hurtful. At the same time, I wish people would remember my heart, and that way deep down, it's a kind heart. It's a heart that would give you my filled out Subway card if you didn't have lunch money. If you needed a place to stay, I'd put you up. If it's mine, I will share it. THAT is who I am. So I wish that when the sarcastabitch came out, people wouldn't always be so quick to zone in on perceived "meanness" and remember the whole picture.

And so I'm feeling bad about one set of hurt feelings, and then I find there's another person who was uncomfortable when J and I dropped by at DQ's house while on our walk friday. The last thing I want to do is make people uncomfortable.

Sometimes I wonder why even bother...it's just easier to keep my own counsel.

4 comments so far
Belle - 2005-11-07 14:21:59
I know what THAT feels like. Boy, howdy. Sometimes I want to walk around with a boombox, singing, "Oh Lawd, please don't let me be misunderstood."
-------------------------------
LA - 2005-11-07 16:24:03
I'm sorry, but I'm having a difficult time putting 'mean' and 'you' in the same sentence. The only time I can imagine you getting snappish is if pushed beyond all endurance by boors who haven't a clue how awful they are and then have the nerve to go all pissy when you finally give them a dose back. I guarantee if you bit someone's butt that person deserved it. ~LA
-------------------------------
radiogurl - 2005-11-07 16:35:42
You definitely don't come across as cruel, for what it's worth; but I consider myself extremely privileged to work among a team that's as sarcastic and warped as I am. On the rare occasion we're all in the place simultaneously, it gets a wee bit raucous *whistles innocently*
-------------------------------
Belle - 2005-11-08 16:20:59
Wait, what was it that peeved you again? (Heh. Just being a peever. Heh. Muah.)
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here