Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2005-11-06 - 1:32 p.m.
Everyone knows it's windy

Poop poop and more poop.

We were awakened around 2 by screaming high winds. Reminded my of my days in Garden City. Usual for KS, not so much for here.

Then the power went out.

And, 12 hours later, it's still out.

Thank god for a laptop and dial up. But egads is dial up SLOW. Remember when a 24K modem was zippy? Now 56 is lethargic.

Husband doesn't do power outages well. He thinks the television must be on while people are awake and in the home. I'm ok with no tv, but I DID get a bit of an internet jones. Actually, right now my only complaint is that it's getting a bit chilly, and I have a freezer full of food in the basement and a fridge upstairs, and I'm not sure how long stuff will last. I grew up in a house with a well pump, so when the power went out, EVERYTHING went out. So as long as I can use the bathroom, and even shower, I'm pretty happy.

But my hair looks horrid, because I couldn't blow dry.

A quick bit of surfing gleans the info that the power company has 30k people w/o power, and they are saying 6 tonight, or some not until thursday.

I have trouble believing the Thursday part. I mean. I remain hopeful, as there was a brief flicker about an hour ago.

Annoyed with Husband for no good reason. Well, I have a reason, but it's probably silly. For some reason, he pisses me off when he falls asleep on the couch. Like yesterday, he comes home from the game, we eat, he puts his headphones on so he can work on his music projects, then when he takes the headphones off, he falls asleep. Where is the part about interacting with the wife he hasn't seen all day??? So...whatever. It bugs me. I mean, I sit here on my computer much of the night, but I'm not under headphones.

Oh well. Could be worse.

Now. Back to reading the old fashioned analog way. Must conserve batteries.

2 comments so far
radiogurl - 2005-11-06 18:11:22
I'm just glad to hear that you're all right...
-------------------------------
LA - 2005-11-06 20:32:38
You scored as no drugs because you need your wits about you when you do cool shit like run radio stations and fly teeny purse-sized airplanes and get your groove on with 15 other people ON ICE. You're Johnny Quest, all clever adventures, and I'm the Rasta kid in Fat Albert's gang, the one that was always off camera getting spliffed and sleeping it off. ~LA
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here