Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2005-10-24 - 11:42 p.m.
Me and my big mouth

Cold and RAINY. Glum.

Captain Freezy is a clueless moron. That's all there is to it. Here's a hint: It's NOT GOOD when your boss (me) asks you about a programming change that was made months ago and your answer is "I don't know, I don't really pay attention". Bzzzt. Wrong answer.

Pretty much on my own at work tomorrow. Cpt F is filling in for DQ, who is in Indy picking up an award for us. Yay us! Boss is out of town for a meeting, and Ass GM won't be in. So it should be an ok day. And not cold in the office!

So I'm feeling a little bummed. A flip comment meant to be nice sparked a treatise on intolerance with me as the starting point. Which would actually be ironic to anyone who knows anything about me and how I live my life. I mean, trying to "defend" myself turns into a "some of my best friends are/when did you stop beating your wife" type of argument. But here's the thing: I am SURROUNDED in my life by the right. God is shoved at me on every street. Where I live, liberals are disparaged and made to feel stupid at every turn. So forgive me if after another day in Rightwingville my preference would be to spend my leisure/fun reading time on blogs and journals of people with whom I had something in common. Not lock step total agreement, but not complete philisophical opposition, either.

I would love to have a constructive discussion with someone from the right who didn't tell me I was going to hell because my beliefs are "against God", or who didn't just dismiss me out of hand as a "wacky liberal". I haven't experienced it much here, though.

Well, shrinkage in the morning...should hit the sack.

1 comments so far
radiogurl - 2005-10-25 08:44:30
*Sigh* I grew up a right-winger, was forced into it. And the longer I live the more I hope I've lost the antagonistic stance. :(
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here