Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2005-06-27 - 7:10 p.m.
Mood Swing

So the owners of the house countered. And husband and I are now kind of "eh" about it.

Weird. Now, we know we totally lowballed. But they countered at 10k higher than our lowball. Understand, where we live, no one pays "retail" for houses here. So their counter is only 5K below list.

And there IS that whole furnace thing....

Our realtor called with the counter offer, and we really haven't figured out our answer. I mean, there's a part of me that's like "ehhhh, moving is hard, our house is nice, it wouldn't hurt us to hang out here a while longer and get our finances more in order. (I saw our FICO numbers....cringe)

And here's the thing....we don't NEED to move. Those people NEED to sell their house.

Gah. What is happening to me?!?! A week ago I was ready to move tomorrow. Now, I'm like, eh, whatever.
Seriously. I could just walk at this point. And really be fine with it.

The hell?

I'm trying to figure out if it's the universe telling me something, or if I'm getting jitters and letting this be an excuse.

Throw in the fact that our real estate agent is superawesome and has really been great with us, and I feel a little guilty that he will have worked so hard for naught.

But that's no reason to buy a house.

Argh.

3 comments so far
radiogurl - 2005-06-27 22:25:05
Let the counteroffer languish. If these folks need to sell and can't, the house could end up coming down to even lower than your initial offer. And if not, it wasn't meant to be. Who knows? In the interim you might find something you and hubby like even more!
-------------------------------
ladyloo - 2005-06-28 10:20:44
Having just come off an awful house buying expereince, let me reassure you that it is perfectly fair to deceide not to buy a house if your hearts not in it. The realtor may have been really great, but that's their job - no need for guilty feelings there.
-------------------------------
Kim - 2005-06-28 15:33:48
It's hit or miss. At one point I broke down and said it wasn't worth it. Sometimes I still hit that point. Either way, the feeling is strong. Because you're not feeling strongly is saying something. If they came back and accepted your offer, how do you think you'd react? Maybe you like the house for the price you wanted and it wasn't worth it after that? Maybe counter with something only $2.5k and tell your real estate agent that she can tell them you aren't very motivated if they feel like pushing back.
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here