Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2005-03-21 - 11:42 p.m.
Of memes and living wills

A MEME swiped from the lovely LA:

A) Recommend to me:
1. a movie:
2. a book:
3. a musical artist, song, or album:

(B) Ask me three questions, no more, no less. Ask me anything you want and I will post the answers in a new entry.

(C) Copy and paste this meme in your blog, allowing your friends to ask you anything. (The operative word here is ask. heh)


OK. SO. Monday again. Did NOTHING over the weekend. Husband was making "I'm running short on undies noises" today. Now, before anyone says anything about him washing his own damn panties, I want to point out that when we got married, I traded groceries for laundry. And he pretty much does whatever I ask. Cat boxes? Check. Trash? Check. Dishwasher? Check. Vacuum? Yup. Clean up after dinner? Uh huh. So. The least I can do is keep up with the laundry.

Man. I'm makin' out like a bandit.

Managed to get out walking friday and today at work. Just took off, midafternoon and did a mile in the office park. Felt good. Nice to get it done while the day was relatively young. I'm putting my little stickers in my calendar, and I'm taking it to the dr next time, so I can show her my proof that I am TOO exercising, and now, could she please tell me, in all her doctorly wisdom, why it ain't doin' any good?

Yeah. I feel like I'm getting fatter by the minute again...and the BP is high.

On an even more cheery note....I got my living will all signed and witnessed today. This Terri Schiavo stuff is just ridiculous. Husband knows full well that if my brain is ever replaced by spinal fluid, he is to unplug me and let me go. Honestly. The way this poor woman has become a political cause for both sides of the aisle is disgusting. But it DID prompt me to make my wishes clear. The original is going to my dr, I'm going to carry a copy in my wallet, and I will leave a copy with my Important Papers at home.

And personally, I'm on the side of the husband in this one. She's not in a coma, but a persistent vegetative state. My understanding is that there IS a difference. There's no there there. What made Terri Terri doesn't exist anymore, no matter how much her parents wish it to be.

And that's what I think about that.

2 comments so far
radiogurl - 2005-03-22 01:08:11
I HAVE my will made out to say that. In the few, very rare cases when someone comes out of a protracted coma, they've never been the same. The person I am would be gone even with that, and I certainly wouldn't want to be forced to exist in a world where I couldn't communicate or function. There is no question for me and I have made it perfectly clear to all concerned.
-------------------------------
LA - 2005-03-22 16:18:48
Heh. Not only do I have paper, I wrote to Chuck Schumer yesterday (Sen from NY) and gave him a run down on when I should be unplugged and/or when not to apply heroic measures. As I told him, since %$$&%$ CONGRESS is now in the medical business we should all write to our government hacks and tell them how we want to die. Thanks for your questions, btw. They're great. I got a lot of same old same old and yours were refreshing. I'm working on my lists of recommendations and questions. I want to ask the right things of the right people instead of just any old thing. Be warned. I'll be back. ~LA
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here