Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2005-03-08 - 1:24 p.m.
ick. Germs!

Oh yeah. Forgot another reason I don't like kids.

They are germ vectors.

Feeling craptastic today. Not craptastic enough to stay home, but craptastic nonetheless. Cough, head, weird stomach.

So. Whatever. If I need to leave, I have coverage. But I think I'll stick it out, at least for the time being.

Cooked like a FIEND last night. A pan of baked spaghetti (that takes like a pound and a half of cheese. oh yeah. THAT'S good for ya), chicken stew with biscuits. (YUM) Meatloaf. (Also YUM) My plan was to make this stuff and then dinners would be done for the week. I could hit the Y without that whole "oh shit, there will be no dinner until 8, let's order pizza" thing. Tonight, though, I need to make the perch that's in the fridge before it gets icky.

We have a volunteer I just adore. Reminds me of my Gramps. Sweet, sweet man. His wife is ill, and I was a bit worried that in his caring for her, he wasn't eating right. (Yeah, I know, I AM my gramma) So I packed up parts of my mass cookathon and brought them to him. He was so happy! It was really cool..it made ME really happy.

Sometimes I think we get caught up in the me me me ness of our lives, and we forget how great it is to make someone else feel good.

OK. I'm a dork. And I'm as selfish as anyone. But still...sometimes it feels so good to do for someone with no strings other than the good feeling it brings.
So maybe THAT is selfish, wanting to feel good. But whatever. That sweet man has dinner for the rest of the week.


1 comments so far
radiogurl - 2005-03-08 22:38:22
What a wonderful gift for him, though! I can only imagine how happy that made him. You're absolutely right about remembering the sheer joy in making someone ELSE's day!
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here