Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2005-03-01 - 11:01 a.m.
Just in case.....

My dr REALLY, I mean REALLLLLLLYYYYY likes to err on the side of caution.

So I call the nurse, she's not available, she calls back. I ask "what's wrong?"

"actually, your breast exams were fine, but Dr wants you to see a surgeon anyway just as another double check".

Okaaaay.

Now, I realize, my dr is relatively new at the doctoring biz. And there is a LOT of CYA in medicine. But man. I saw those xrays myself, and there was NOTHING in there. Not a speck, not a spot, not a SHADOW. I saw the ultrasound while the tech said "oh it's a fat deposit". I saw said deposit. So I'm waiting for the nurse to call me back with an appointment with the boobie surgeon. And I will go and be compliant.

Because when it comes right down to it, the last thing I want is to show up with a big ol' tumor five years from now and be told "if we'd found it sooner....."

2 comments so far
Pandi - 2005-03-01 12:30:51
See, that is exactly why I will not get a mammogram. It's just not a reliable method of detecting anything. My gyno told me that, too. One day I'll write an entry about it, citing all kinds of sources about how so much of it is interpretation, how often the doctors get it wrong, and how much unnecessary worry women are put through.
-------------------------------
radiogurl - 2005-03-01 20:46:59
Better a false positive than a false negative. I'm glad it looks like overkill in this instance, and hope the news stays that way!
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here