Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2004-10-26 - 11:11 p.m.
But that's ok. It's my journal.....doesn't have to make sense!

A week until the election. I gotta say, I'm a skeered about how this one's gonna turn out. I just have this feeling that W is going to have a second term, and good lord...how much scarier will he be, since he will have NO worries about being "moderate" to secure re-election.

After my success with informercial make up, I bough infomercial zit killer. Not Pro Activ, which I tried before and didn't have much success with. No, this one is Murad. Seems to be working. I have a derm appt next week....she's gonna ask me why I am wasting her time. But FINALLY. It was getting ridiculous....it was like my chin was covered in tumors. Ick.

Work is work is work. I screwed something up tonight, and I'm pissed. But daggone....if they keep giving me more plates to spin, eventually one will crash. Sometimes I feel like I need to make two lists every day. One one, I put everything I did right, on the other, everything I messed up. Even on my worst days, the did right list is LOTS longer. And with this stupid ass time change coming next week....argh. We are one of the few states that doesn't change time....but what that means for us in broadcasting is that actually, we do, because we do everything in relation to the uplink in DC. So....HALF the year we are on the same time, the other half, we are an hour behind. So I'm busying myself this week going over automation playlists and record lists and making sure the right things get turned on at the right time....and of course, there will be major snafus. It's a given. DQ is freaking with election stuff...and I don't blame her. However, she needs to realize that I am doing much more than simply sitting at my desk waiting until I can help her with her next crisis. We have an afternoon host we all adore....he reminds me of my gramps. Today as I was buzzing around he started to laugh and said watching me running around was like trying to watch the ball at a tennis match. I suppose so. After DQ is gone for the day and I can have some studio time, I'm rushing around like a madwoman...get the promos done, get the voice tracking done, double check the edit lists for tomorrow's shows, get the news done, update the carts....blah blah blah....get it done ASAP, because you never know when a crisis will pop up and put you behind again.

But I'm really tired of our climate of "Oh, I work SO HARD", "No, *I* work so hard!" "No, *I* work much harder than any of you!" I mean, I whine about how hard I work HERE, but not at work. At work, I pretty much shut up and....work. I know that Diva and DQ have no real idea of how much stuff I need to get done on a DAILY BASIS to keep things running. They think updating some carts here and there and knowing a few automation commands gives them the same knowledge as me.

Uh. No. Just. No. All that classical automation that ran during the drive? All me, baby. And no one else could have done it. Period. Do I make it look easy? I have no idea, really. It's not rocket science, but it does require some brain power. But sometimes I wonder if my just...doing my job, I'm giving people a false sense that what I do is trained monkey work. I always seem to work with the workplace martyrs. They make a big to do about all they have to do, how bizzybizzy they are, blah blah blah, and in the meantime, I'm just slogging along, gettin' it done. I did have a moment last week with the boss, when I called attention to something or other, and the boss teased me about being like DQ. I said something like "yeah, I know, but I'm only calling attention to it because that's the only way to get noticed around here".

Sigh. This entry makes no sense.

1 comments so far
Pandionna - 2004-10-27 13:40:37
Your office sounds like it should be in Washington. Unlike my office, which is more like, "Ugh, I partied so much," and "I'm NEVER drinking again," and "No, *I* had more jello shots."
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here