Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2004-10-07 - 5:44 p.m.
Home!

Back from my conference. It was about as enjoyable an experience as a conference (and the attendant air travel) can be. Short flights, on time, and I learned a lot, mostly that I am WAAAAAY ahead on the tecno curve when it comes to all things public radio distribution and automation.

Way ahead.

So it was psychologically good for Captain Freezy and me. I spend so much time at my job feeling stupid and inadequate. Well, lemme tell you, when it came to the changes that will be made in the next year with regard to how programs are distributed...I was a fucking genius. For a room full of technically minded people, there were a lot who Just. Weren't. Getting. It. About 20 minutes in, I turned to my boss and said "Oh. It is going to be like TIVO for public radio programs". "with faster than real time downloading" a colleague added. But the questions people were asking made it really clear that there was a lack of groking the whole concept. It was as if we were being told that we were all being moved from horse drawn buggies to automobiles, and people were worried about where they were supposed to store their buggy whips. Um. No longer necessary. We'll be ridding ourselves of an entire rack of equipment (every piece of which has broken down at some point....some of which is on the fritz NOW), as well as a computer and a printer. And the new system will work better. I can't wait. Sign me up.

Anyway.

The hotel was AMAZING. The coolest place I have ever stayed. If you ever can stay at a Westin with the "heavenly bed", do it. This bed was amazing. Like a big hug. The hotel was amazingly decorated, the bathroom was amazing....I was really sorry my husband wasn't there to enjoy it all with me.

Hm. I think I overused the word amazing.

Met up with people I used to work with...had dinner with my former boss last night. I miss him. I have worked for and with some cool people.

Got up before the sun (and you know how much I like THAT) to catch the flight home. But now I am home, and Husband picked us up. I found myself getting excited to see him as the plane taxied up to the gate. This was the first time apart since we got married. It was weird. I didn't sleep in the whole bed....I stayed on my side.

Checked my work email, and, as always, it makes me want to jump in front of a bus. I'm back to feeling stupid and inadequate. But...tomorrow is Friday, so after a buttload of work gets done, it's the weekend. whheeeee.

Next week, we are back to the Y. Have to. I think I weigh 400 pounds. Wonder how hypnosis works for weight loss.....

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here