Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2004-10-04 - 9:54 p.m.
Going home again

Spent the weekend at my alma mater . It was great. It was like I hadn't been there for forever, yet it was like I'd been there yesterday. The campus center smells like I remember it. It's amazing, really, how colleges can sometimes be frozen in time. Fifteen years later, and it felt like home.

When did college students get so YOUNG?

Don't get me wrong, there have been many changes to the place. New living units (oh my...they have CO ED DORMS!?!?! When I was there, we still had visitation hours, and maintence men would holler "Man on the floor") My old dorm now houses men....we did, of course, go to see it, and some poor freshman was coming back from the shower while we were there....probably wondering whose moms we were.....

I am just SICK that I missed seeing two of my freshman roommates. We were all there, we just missed each other. I love them.

But the highlight had to be seeing my academic adviser. (advisor? I never get that right....) Through the years, we've exchanged an email or two...he emailed me when he read that I'd gotten married. I didn't really think I would see him, but on the off chance, I dragged husband by his office. At the end of the hall, I hear Miles Davis wafting from an open door. Noooo, can't be! I walked down and poked my head in, and lo and behold, there he was, grading papers.

And he knew me. After fifteen years, he KNEW ME. Do you know how good it felt to hear him say "I was HOPING I'd get to see you!" So I introduced him to my Husband, and we chatted for a bit, about the college, and life, and the election, and how we both loath the current holder of the highest office in the land. And it was like I'd been there yesterday. I remembered what I liked about the school. And just like graduation day, I didn't want to leave campus when it was time to go.

Ah, if I knew then.....

Hardly the time or the need to unpack....going to St Louis on business tomorrow. First time I will be away from Husband since we were married. He takes such good care of lazy old me when we travel, I'm going to have to get my own bucket of ice! But I'll be back on Thursday afternoon, and in the meantime, I'll be sleeping in a giant bed in a fancy schmantzy hotel. That has room service. So it won't be all bad.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here