Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2004-08-30 - 11:43 a.m.
Little Miss Muffett

This little story is for trancejen , because even though she doesn't read me, I read her, and she was the first person I thought of when this happened....

So I'm sitting on the sofa in our lovely vacation condo, reading my third trashy book of the week (about Athina Onassis), when I see something drop from the cathedral ceiling and land two feet in front of me on the coffee table.

A spider.

A HUGE FUCKING SPIDER WITH A MILLION ZILLION LEGS.

I screamed. Husband did his usual "Whatwhatwhatwhatwhaaat?" that he does when I express alam.

"OMIGOD there is a HUGE spider"

"Where?"

"There! On the table. He just plopped down from the ceiling. AAAAGGGH it moved!"

"I'll get it"

"AAAGGGH. It touched me, I know it did! Aaaaaa"

"Well get your feet up"

Husband chased said spider (that sucker was FAST. Must be the million legs it had) and smushed it, then took it outside. My hero.

That thing was HUGE. Did I mention that? Bigger than a quarter. Half dollar, silver dollar in size.

eaaauuugh.

Today is Last Vacation Day. Poop. Yesterday we drove around, through the park, etc, just wandering. This morning we went out for breakfast, which wound up being much more difficult an endeavor than we thought it would be. Word to the wise...Waffle House doesn't take credit/debit cards...we ended up at a place in Cherokee called Grandma's Pancakes and Steak. This was a big deal to Husband, who is the guy franchises were invented for. He likes to know he's getting the same thing, each and every time, no matter where he is. Grandma's omlettes were great. Atmosphere a bit smoky. I sound like a non smoking nazi, I know. Can't help it. It's pewy.

Anyway....we got breakfast, drove around a bit, and are now home, doing laundry. One of the coolest things about this place is that we can do laundry before we leave and not come home with a suitcase full of chores. Dunno what time we will be leaving, but we'll try to make it earlyish, as it's about a 10 hour trip, and we'd like to make it straight through. As I remember from last year, the last four hours are the killer ones.

What else? Not much. Still mulling over the work issue....Husband won't come up with any numbers for me...as in....ok, how much pay cut COULD I take? No, I don't WANT to, but if I could find a better balance of work and home and throw a little extra sanity in there, it might be worth it.

So. Vacation over too soon. Isn't that just the way?

1 comments so far
LA - 2004-08-29 15:14:38
Too cool about doing the laundry. I'd loooooove to be able to come back from a trip with clean clothes. ~LA
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here