Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2004-07-16 - 9:46 p.m.
Hostess with the mostest

Fairly uneventful Friday for the ol' radio shop.

Hmmm. Is that ticking I hear?

Not a lot planned for the weekend. We are having a cookout next weekend (I must have taken leave of my senses....) and I hope to get as much prep as possible done this weekend. Husband does not understand why I want him to start stocking up on ice NOW. "We can just get it the day of". "OK, if you want to get 25 pounds of ice all at once..." "HOW MUCH?"

Silly boy. Have to ice the various liquid refreshments. Have to have ice to put IN the liquid refreshments.

About the only thing I'm sure of with this entertaining thing is that you can't have enough ice.....the rest is a crap shoot. How do I know how much food to have? Hate to run out. But don't want so many leftovers that they get green and fuzzy.

Decisions, decisions.

So here's the menu so far: burgers, dogs, chicken breasts. Corn salad, cole slaw, baked beans. Fruit salad. Carrot cake and brownies. Various chip and veggie tray things for before the meal.

Opinons? Advice?

Husband and I went downtown to the Big Festival last night. Poor man, made him ride that big swingy boat thing that he hates. I LOVE it. LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE IT. Could be on the big swingy boat thing all day. We got lemon shake ups (YUM) and grabbed dinner. He had a corn dog, I had a boneless bbq rib sammich with grilled onions and peppers. YUUUMMMEEEEE.

I noted while we were walking around that most young women seem to be shopping at stores called "SkankHo". I mean, they leave the HOUSE looking like that?!?! I get sexy, I really do. But most of these young women didn't look sexy, they looked trashy and cheap.....in that "I think I look sexy" way that makes 'em look even trashier. And oh, we 30 something dowdies don't look much better, either. I'm no fashion plate. I could very well be a candidate for "What Not To Wear"...in fact, if someone wants to turn me in to them, I'm there....5 grand for a new wardrobe AND advice on what to wear...sign me up.

Anyway...I digress. I am not a great dresser. But I have a few rules before going out in public. No stains. No tears. Nothing that hugs the flab in a sausage like manner. Combed hair. Appearance of recent bath. Lately I've been noticing these rules being flouted every time I go out. Especially that bath one. Yeesh. No, I don't think we need to go back to the days where a woman wouldn't DREAM of leaving home w/o a girdle and hose. But I do wish people would look a little....tidier.

Hmmm. So what's worse....no updates, or inane updates?

Toodles and loo

1 comments so far
LA - 2004-07-17 06:45:13
No updates is worse! I miss you! The fair sounds fun. Those rib sandwiches are so yummy I dream about them. You guys worked really hard to do up the house, why not have a party? I can't advise about party food quantity, I'm terrible. I go so overboard you'd think I invited the entire Roman Legion. Good luck figuring it. If you hit on a good ratio of guest-to-food please let me know, I could use the help. ~LA
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here