Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2004-05-02 - 2:02 p.m.
I am Mother Nature's Bitch

Mother Nature is a tease. That's all there is to it. She'll put out a little, then, when you're ready for the big event, she pulls back and won't let you have any more of her good stuff.

Seventy five gorgeous degrees on Friday. I left work early, rode ten miles on the bike, looked forward to some longer weekend rides, and decided to buy myself some pedals with cages, for maximum pedaling efficiency.

Saturday, it's cloudy and chilly, but I still made my way to my trusty cycling store, and bought my new pedals. Got home, found the tools to take off the old and put on the new, and as I put the second pedal on, it began to rain.

And rain.

And rain.

And rain some more.

And to top it off, it was a balmy 45 degrees. Wheeee.

Today's not much better...high expected around 50, but at least is isn't raining. I COULD ride, but I think I'd get frostbitten ears. So I ran an errand or two, and I may just....nap.

Is that wrong of me? I always feel like napping is wrong. Lazy. Somehow immoral. Really...on weekends, I would love to stay in my jammies all day, not shower, and just be a big lump. But there is so much to get done. I don't even cook on weekends, for pete's sake! I try to get the laundry done, and some basic picking up. But really...I just.....want to do nothing! Is that really wrong? I'm thinking there are more Mom Issues at work here....I mean, she's a woman who likes to have a to do list when she's on vacation. To not be dressed by noon on the weekend is just....morally wrong.

Hmmm. Maybe another topic for a shrink session.

Had an ok shrinkage on Friday. Lots of uncomfortable silences, and not because I was being a butt....but because I really didn't have much to say. I don't really want to go in there every week and whine about work. So counter productive. And boring. So I whined about weight issues for awhile. She actually brought up Dr. Phil and said his ideas are really quite sound. I told her I watched his program and had his weight solution book...and that I was going to read it again. My homework assignment is to not weigh myself for about a month. Harder than you might think, as I pretty much step on the scale two or three times a week. Because I don't feel crappy enough, don'tcha see....

Anyway....I wasn't a total slug today...I did more decrapifying, and have a HUGE box of....crap. I mean, seriously, I looked at 95% of this stuff and went "huh? Why did I keep this? Why did I PACK and MOVE this?" So...big box to drag out to the curb Sunday night.

However, I did keep some stuff, including a few photos. Here's one I saw and couldn't help but go "awwww" over. Yes, that's Our Heroine, age 5, in her kindergarten picture.

I wear bangs now, due to that Herman Munster like forehead. But I WAS kind of cute....

OK. Clothes in dryer, nap on couch.

2 comments so far
LA - 2004-05-02 21:06:46
Yes, you were very cute! Funny, Mike and I had a horrified moment just this morning when we realized we don't even allow ourselves to sleep! Sleep-in? You mean roll over and doze back off instead of jumping out of bed at dawn and charging into the day's work? Is this allowed? So I hear you. Boy, do I hear you. ~LA (PS: Was it you I accidently quoted about raspberry jell-o worship? It sounded too familiar in my head to be original. I think it was you. Sorry for plagerizing.)
-------------------------------
Pandionna - 2004-05-02 23:25:55
Awwwww. So cute! Re the weather: yeah, same issues here. Tomorrow night it's going down into the 40s again, and then by Thursday it should be in the low 70s. This time last year, it was 78 and sunny all week. Hang in there! We WILL get warm weather again!
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here