Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2004-04-21 - 9:46 p.m.
More shrinkage

So. More shrinking today. My new homework, which I have already begun, is to write out a question in my dominant hand (in my case, left) and write the answers with my non dominant hand.

I am not sure what that is supposed to accomplish, but I've given it a try, and I'll try again some time. Because I'm all about doing this counseling thing right.

The other thing she suggested was journaling....the old fashioned way, pen and paper. I told her I've had an online journal for more than two years, and she seemed pleasantly surprised, but asked my to please try a written journal....something about seeing your own words in your own handwriting or something. Dunno.

My big project is supposed to be talking with my boss about setting boundaries for my job. I must be honest here...not real optimistic about this. No, it's not unreasonable to want to not have to be available 24/7, but I kind of feel like that's the nature of the beast....it's like an obstetrician saying she only wants to deliver babies between 9 and 5....that's not how that particular game is played. But if I actually SEE my boss tomorrow, I may bring this all up. The interesting discovery I stumbled across is that part of the issue is Captain Freezy....I'm a little pissed toward him. I feel like he doesn't take enough responsibility, and sticks me with stuff I don't always need to be stuck with. So that's one part of the issue.

The other thing we explored today was this need I have to be liked.....and the way one bit of criticism can offset a ton of praise.

It's hard. I know intellectually that I have some faulty thinking patterns. But putting that intellectual knowledge into practice is a whole 'nother can of worms.

I'm tired. Later.

1 comments so far
LA - 2004-04-21 22:53:28
Oh you betcha. Even in the worst melt-downs I have that clinical voice in there going, "This is truly unnecessary. No way does it have to be this bad." As for work, you're right. You DO have a responsibility to the station, however you do not have to do other's jobs because they use that dedication to sluff their stuff onto you. Proud of you. ~LA
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here