Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2004-02-08 - 10:11 p.m.
Grandma

My grandma was a great crocheter. She made afghans for all 9 of us grandkids. Mine is on my couch and will always be on my couch, no matter where I live. As a baby, I had little ponchos and bonnets, as an older kid, I had the world's best slippers.

So this weekend, I got a bee in my bonnet to crochet. I got a couple of books, and some yarn, and some of it came back to me, from when grandma tried to teach me. But I should have paid more attention. I should have worked harder at it. Because now, it is really hard. You can't tell from the pictures how to do something as much as you can tell from someone actually showing you. And reading those patterns is like reading greek. But I'm working my way through it all, and while I may end up with nothing more than a hand made cat blanket, I can't help but think of grandma as I try to move my hands as hers moved, making those loops and chains.

And as I sat down to write this entry, I realized....she died 3 years ago this weekend. The very weekend I got a bee in my bonnet to get to the craft store and do some crocheting.

I miss you, gramma.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here