Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-12-31 - 8:12 p.m.
stick a fork in me...

OOoooooo. I'm gonna BURST! We had a Nice Dinner tonight, and I have eaten SO MUCH. Husband got a box of NY strip steaks from a client, so we grilled up two of those, I made some roasted garlic and rosemary potatoes (LOVE that Rachael Ray), made a nice green salad AND made some beer bread with the mix SIL and BIL gave us for xmas. How simple is it? Open beer. Pour in bowl. Open mix. Add to beer. Stir a little. Put in greased loaf pan and bake for an hour. YUM. Later on, I get to eat shrimp cocktail till I'm in a little shrimpy coma.

Yeah, them's our big plans for NYE. But it's ok. In fact, I'm in my jammies already. Was home from work today (I could get to like those two day weeks.....), and spent time puttering. Tidied up the bedroom...last night, we moved the cedar chest to the bedroom, since with the new sofa, there is NO room for it in the living room. It had been on the front porch for a month, which, in addition to looking like hillbilly heaven, was not good for the chest, being exposed to the temperature extremes out there. Moving it was Husband's idea. He moved out the old dresser and hutch, into the spare bedroom. He did it ALL on his own. Re shelved books, moved everything. Needed my help to get the chest up the stairs, but that was it. So today I stashed my wedding gown and bouquet in the chest, and tidied up the room. The nice thing is, the chest actually goes with the other furniture...I have two waterfall style dressers that were my grandma's, and the chest is waterfall style as well. But we need a picture for the wall....awful lot of white space above the trunk.

Not much else going on. We had a bit of a discussion about whether we should spend 1400 bucks for me to take a medical transcription certification course at the local U. I realize it's a lot of money, etc, etc, but I'm also one of those liberal arts goofballs who thinks ANY kind of learning isn't an expense, it's an INVESTMENT. But Husband's not seeing it like that right now. I need to learn more about the field. I do know it's a fast growing one. I also know that it doesn't pay as well as the one I'm in now. BUT...what if I could bring home a few hundred a month by working a couple of evenings a week? Something to think about. Anyone know anything about the field?? Part of Husband's negativity comes from the fact that a co-worker of his left to do transcribing, had a bad experience with it, and came back to his place.

Well, Happy New Year, all. Here's to good things in 2004!

Colz

2 comments so far
Pandionna - 2003-12-31 21:12:59
I thought of learning medical transcription, too. I know a fair amount of the terminology already, at least for endocrinology. When Syncope comes back to d-land more regularly, you might want to drop her a line--that's what she does for a living. (Okay, and how Washingtronish was that little bit of networking?)
-------------------------------
LA - 2003-12-31 21:23:21
I had shrimp today too! Shrimp in garlic sauce...yummmmmm! I'm just a fool for Chinese food. I'm down to 3 different yoga studios/classes and will be auditing each in the new year for a class or two so's I can see where I fit in best. I'm stoked! Thanks for the encouragement. Happy New Year! ~LA
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here