Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-12-26 - 9:39 p.m.
Incommunicado

If you were to call my house this weekend, here is what you will hear: "This is 555-5555. Husband and Colz are unavailable this weekend. Please leave a message".

My cell phone is off. My ringers at home are off. I am about to cut the damn line already.

Apparently, taking any time off is just too much of a hardship for our workplaces. You know what the first thing I heard on Christmas morning? While I slept in a hotel room a hundred miles from home, the theme from Mission Impossible pierced the darkness of a Christmas morning. It was my cell phone. Apparently, all the duckies I put in a row were for naught, and disaster had befallen my workplace. I called my boss and made some other phone calls, and humpty dumpty was once again put back together.

But my day was pretty much shot, since I now had this whole "what did I do wrong" thing running through my brain. I still don't know what happened, as I called up my lists and macros when I got home, and can't figure out where things went so horribly awry.

Then today, the phone rings, and it's Drama Queen needing some help with her own project....she can't burn a cd, and has now managed to crash a computer and blah blah blah crisis crisis crisis. IT'S MY GODDAMN DAY FUCKING OFF. I don't want to talk to you unless you're calling to tell me I won a million dollars. WHY is this so hard for people to grasp? Are people so self involved that they really DON'T give a good goddamn about others?

Wait. Stupid question. Sorry.

So tonight, Husband got a call from HIS work. Something stupid and elementary, and he had to walk someone through it. He got off the phone, and I said "enough. I am turning off the ringers and putting a message on the voice mail that we are not available this weekend" I cannot tell you the last time we had a weekend that didn't have work calls. I am setting a boundary this weekend. My cell phone is off. My voice mail is on. If you're calling from work, I will see you Monday. Have a nice weekend.

Other than that, Mrs Lincoln, how was the play?

Christmas was nice. Had a good time with Husband's family. Though I will say, it takes some getting used to, their Swedish Lutheran reserve. I mean, my parents make a bigger deal when we arrive at their house for dinner than his family made when we arrived from two hours away. No one stood up. No hugs. Nothing. Freaky. But it was fun (except the church part. incessant kid howling all through Mass). Husband's sister and I had a really good visit on Christmas Day, just sitting alone in a room with the new baby, chatting and having girl talk, getting to know each other better, etc, etc. She said that Husband had really changed since meeting me, communicating more with the family, etc, etc, that they were so glad we were together, because they thought I was good for him. That was nice to hear. They are getting less and less like strangers and more and more like family.

Husband was AWESOME with gifts, even though he spent way too much. I got a really great kitchen knife (like the one Rachael Ray uses on 30 Minute Meals), a lovely charm bracelet, some perfume that I LOVE and adore, and a couple of books, including a Barefoot Contessa cookbook. My MIL gave me two 30 Minute Meal cookbooks, so I am SET.

And I've been eating and eating and eating. Took spin class on Tuesday and did half an hour on the elliptical trainer today, so I'm not a total sloth. Close, though. This evening, I made split pea soup with the leftover ham from last night. YUM. Tomorrow, it's to my parents' house for gifts and dinner....roast beef. DOUBLE YUM.

Then next week, I'm back on plan for SERIOUS.

2 comments so far
Pandionna - 2003-12-27 00:44:24
My husband's co-workers are the same way. His boss will call at 10:30 at night and then again at 7:30 the following morning. He even called the huz on his day off to ask him if he wouldn't mind scouting out other wine shops in Virginia to see what their prices were. That was the last time the huz answered his cell phone on his day off.
-------------------------------
LA - 2003-12-27 06:24:14
Yup, I sneak around turning off ringers and muting the volume on the answering machines. Mike's cell has "mysterious" battery problems. Otherwise we'd have no holiday at all. Like the twerp who called at 6:30 Thanksgiving morning this year to demand Mike come over and look at his furnace which had been making a 'funny noise' since EARLY OCTOBER and now all of a sudden it needed to be looked at. I told said twerp to have a nice Turkey Day and Mike would see him the following Monday. The guy spluttered and muttered but shut up fast enough when I told him a service call on Thanksgiving would be TRIPLE time. And just like that the noise wasn't so urgent. People. Ugh. thanks, btw, for the yoga tips! I'm researching what's out there for me. ~LA
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here