Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-12-06 - 9:53 p.m.
C is for Cookie

I know how to live. Yessiree, I know how to spend saturday night.

Baking.

Did a batch of oatmeal raisin cookies, and a batch of Hungarian apricot lekvar cookies. The latter are my absolute favorite cookie in the world. Cookie heaven. I've had two, so I don't think I'll blow up like the Pillsbury doughboy from that. The lekvar cookies are time consuming, but not difficult. The dough has three ingredients....a pound of softened cream cheese, a half pound of softened butter, and two cups of flour. Combine it into a dough, roll it out like a pie crust, and cut into 2 inch squares. Take each square, and put a tiny dollop of Solo Apricot filling in the center, and fold opposite corners together. Bake at 350 for about 15 minutes. Dust with powdered sugar before serving. YUM YUM YUM. I've already been through a can of filling, and still have dough left. Ah well, perhaps tomorrow. I remember my great aunt making these, and I would SCARF up all the apricot ones. They are also made with prune filling, but I'm not wild about the prune.

Anyway....

Last night was Husband's office christmas party. I am SO old and out of it. Apparently, conventions for how one behaves at an office party have changed. One guy who looked like Kid Rock stood up and gave the room the finger. Classy. Then the woman who was handing out the door prizes was a bit tipsy and shouting profanities into the mic. People were leaving, they were so offended. I was trying to set my gaze on Husband's boss, to see how he was taking this little show, but I couldn't find him. The only good thing was they had caricature (sp?) artists there, and we had one done of us. I'm dressed like Uhura from Star Trek. So we were home by like 9 o'clock.....

Trying to figure out when to take off around Xmas. The boss and Captain Freezie, who does my work when I'm not there, are both ok with me taking a few days. Have to check with Husband to see if he gets any time.

Anyway...that's all from here....

2 comments so far
LA - 2003-12-07 06:51:26
Missed you! And I want to see you in a mini-dress Star Fleet uniform and go-go boots! ~LA
-------------------------------
Pandionna - 2003-12-07 10:17:28
I MUST try to bake those cookies! About office parties, ours is Friday, and this year I'm letting someone ELSE make all the drama. In other words, no screaming matches with George Bush fans. Ummm...yeah.
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here