Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-10-26 - 10:00 a.m.
Well, that doesn't seem right.....

Woo hoo. Fund drive is OVER. And we made the damn goal, too! over by 3K. We've never made that much. Damn. At least we have THAT laurel to rest on for a few days.

Weekends always go too fast! Hmm. Especially when you have to work. Anyway....

DISCLAIMER: If by some odd chance, you know the players described below, please PLEASE do not repeat what you're reading here. Really, if you know me in real life, you probably shouldn't be reading this journal in the first place. Thank you.

Nothing else exciting going on. Did I tell ya about Husband's boss being fired? Let go after SEVEN YEARS with no severance. Not a penny. And Husband gets mad at me because I think he works for an evil empire.

According to the industry gossip in town, it was at least part railroad job. There's some guy who is lined up to be corporate PD. Now, Husband doesn't believe me, but I think time will prove me right. (poor, sweet naive Husband. Always wanting to believe the best in people. Almost always wrong) The other part of the equation involves alleged "inappropriate" behavior. Seems after a staff meeting, one of his staffers headed into closed doors with The Big Boss and leveled accusations of remarks which made her "uncomfortable". Remarks he said he made 6 months ago. Essentially, she got him fired. I hope she's happy.

OK...here's my take on "inappropriate" and "harassment". If someone is inappropriate to me, *I* must say "knock it off, I don't like that kind of talk". I don't understand how this has evolved into a situation where a woman (or man, i guess) can be silent for MONTHS, then pull out some kind of trump card. I agree that harassment is A Bad Thing. But I don't like things that under the guise of protecting women make us into weak little creatures who couldn't POSSIBLY say "hey, please don't make gay jokes around me, and while you're at it, get your hand off my ass". Now, if that request is made, and the behavior continues, THEN go to a higher authority. But sheesh. Women, we have to be able to take care of ourselve to SOME degree!

So anyway....I've been nagging Husband to call his boss, who was also best man at our wedding. Husband is reluctant, but finally left him a message on Friday. I can't believe I'm having to explain to him how to be a friend. He's a loving, compassionate, good, kind person, but he doesn't grok friendship the way women do.

Anyway...plans for today...dunno. Probably a lot of nothing, after the Y. Today is weigh in day. Grand total so far is 24 pounds. Woo hoo!

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here