Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-10-09 - 8:50 p.m.
Whine and Cheese

But I can't have cheese with my whine.

Cheese is too fattening.

Whiiiiiine. I'm HUUUUNNNNGRY.

Dayum, but I'm hungry. OK, I'll give the Weight Watchers program this---it seems to be working. But I am starving. All. The. Time. I eat my points. I eat my activity points. I eat a couple of flex points. My stomach is still growling.

Whine whine fucking whine.

It's making me cranky.

I've lost another pound, but I'm still cranky.

One of the stations was off the air all day today while engineers replaced part of our transmission line, which was damaged in a fire a few weeks ago: /P>

The line is hollow copper, with a smaller diameter copper tube in the middle. The signal goes up the line, to the top of the tower, where the antenna sends it out over the land. To keep the inside of the line free of moisture, dirt, and other contaminates, it's pressurized with nitrogen. Well, somehow our nitro got turned off. There's a tremendous amount of energy in that line....50 thousand watts, in our case. Eventually, that energy started arcing, created heat, and boom....the copper got so hot it melted the insulation on the outside of the line and started a fire. We were luckier than hell that it was at the bottom of the tower AND that the host on the air that night smelled smoke and called all the right people. Left unattended, that sucker could have spread all the way up the damn tower (600 feet), spread to other lines on the tower, and generally been hella bad.

And any engineers out there? Forgive my History major's explanation of the technical stuff, willya?

So because of the fire damage, we've been at about 15 to 30% power for the past few weeks. (any more power, we'd have more fire)

Why am I telling you this? Dunno. I like learning new stuff about How Radio Works. Our chief engineer is way cool about answering my questions w/o making me feel like a moron. He'll explain what he's doing using regular old English.

Left work today feeling like I'd been beaten up. Ugh. Just so busy. And those damn sales people. Sheesh. Everything is always an "emergency". Why do we bother having any kind of policy?

In other news, I stopped taking the pill, figuring that Husband is now bullet proof. Also, my going pill free will perhaps prod him to get in for the second sample test a little sooner. The first test showed no swimmers, living or dead, so I'm thinking I'm pretty safe. But it's weird. I've taken the pill for like 12 years. Before the pill, my periods were HORRID. I mean, doubled over throwing up heavy horrid. So I'm hoping THAT doesn't return. If it does, I'm on the pill till menopause, baby. I can already tell a difference in the old sex drive, which is cool. But it's kind of scary to give up that whole cycle control thing. Before, if Aunt Flo was coming over vacation time, I just made arrangements for her to be early or late. I haven't had a period on a weekend in over a decade. Now I don't have control over that.

And being a control freak, I don't like that.

OK...dying of thirst. Time for a Tasty Beverage.

Cya

1 comments so far
lorster - 2003-10-14 11:26:46
You mentioned a change in your sex drive after going off the pill. Can you elaborate on that one? I, rather, *we* are thinking about L's getting ..er.. fixed. Heh. I was wondering, is your sex drive getting better after going off the pill? If so, that would only serve as yet another reason for me to go off of it.
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here