Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-09-26 - 2:44 p.m.
Taking a break

Yikes. Busy Busy Busy day. I'm taking a short break to have my afternoon yogurt and do a little journaling.

With Captain Freezy gone, I have some extra work today...stuff that I foisted....er....delegated....to him a few months ago. Plus, it was just a day of long conversations and getting behinder and behinder. So this little break feels good.

So there's this blog I read. It's by someone who used to be in media in the city. She's moved on in the past couple months, to a fellowship at a university in another state. She's lovin' what she's studying, she's loving the new city, etc, etc. She and I periodically exchange emails on various topics. I sent her one last night, and in her reply, she asked a question about our station, (why we do a certain thing) and said "It makes it sound like amateur hour".

And I must say, I've taken a bit of umbrage. I talked it over with DQ, who is usually SO right on with her read of people. And what she said was "Either this person isn't in a happy place, or when she DOES get to a happy place, she's NOT very gracious".

Wow. Once again, DQ is spot on with an astute observation. I have been detecting a big of smug in the blog lately...how much better it is, now that someone of her brainpower is no longer trapped in our little burgh.

But ugh...here *I* go, doing that thing I HATE that is SO common to people who live here in Anytown....getting defensive about the place. "Well, if ya don't like it, don't let the door hit ya where the good lord split ya" is the prevailing attitude. Meanwhile, manufacturing is leaving town so fast there are skid marks, and the addition of a hundred jobs at a local company is cause for celebration....so this is hardly a vibrant, growing, stimulating place.

Anyway....

Took the kitten to the vet, and apparently, I wouldn't have been a good vet student, because we DO have a Millie, not a Maynard. The vet just laughed when I said "are you SURE?" Then he fessed up that once he did try to spay a male cat, and it was only once he got in there that he realized the error of his way.....

I'll just say this...Millie is the lumpiest looking girl cat I've ever seen....

I know I haven't written much about the exercise thing....we're still keeping up with the weight lifting three times a week, and I have power yoga on Saturdays, and, well, I'm not doing so great with the biking, but I intend to. My eating is so so....I've fallen in love with those McDonald's grilled chicken salads...yes, they have an entire salt lick worth of sodium in them, but they're pretty dang tasty,and with the low cal dressing, not bad at all, calorie wise. I get one of those, and a snack size yogurt for later in the afternoon, and I'm not doing too bad.

HOWEVER....drum roll please.....when I stepped on the scale at the Y yesterday, I weighed in 20.5 pounds LESS than I did the first time I stepped on the scale there. So something is going right. Slow, but right.

I really need some new pants....the ones I am wearing today are falling off. One of the Dr. Phil pieces of advice is that when the fat size is too big, buy a smaller size and GET RID of the fat clothes.

Wonder if Husband will go along with that?

OK...break over.....see ya!

2 comments so far
LA - 2003-09-27 01:38:15
Get rid of fat clothes? No way. Every friggin time I give away all my maternity clothes I get pregnant, I can just imagine what would happen if I got rid of my fat clothes. I'd start blowing up like Violet in "Willie Wonka". Soon I'd be nothing bout a huge globe with hands and feet sticking out and I'd have to cobble together an outfit made of bed sheets. ~LA
-------------------------------
Pandionna - 2003-09-28 00:59:08
I'm so glad you have a new kitty, and have healed enough to take her into your heart and home. She's adorable. Lucky, too.
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here