Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-09-21 - 9:31 a.m.
Busy weekend

I know I repeat myself, but dang, I love my extended family.

Florida aunt and uncle (the ones my parents will be neighbors of when they sell their house.) are back for a visit, so their daughter had a get together at her (brand new, GORGEOUS) house. Husband and I drove there and back yesterday (about 3 hours each way). It's always preferable to stay over, but we have spent SO much on hotel rooms in the past month, we thought the late drive would be the best option. Plus, it's almost all turnpike and interstate, so it's not a hard drive.

Anyway....it was just fun. Got a tour of the new house, fell completely in love with her master bedroom closet (it could be a baby's room....)and the laundry room. I do tend to feel a bit crappy about our own abode, however. But you know, there's a certain "look" that just isn't going to happen in a 1926 house. It just ain't. But I got some good ideas on flooring...the second person I've talked to who LOVES her laminate. And she, like Husband's sister, used color in a really nice way in the house, which is my goal.

SO anyway....lots of good conversation, some baby holding (I always end up with spit up on my shoulder, even with a burp rag), a late night.

But I'm blessed. I have had people offer sympathy when I say I'm going to a family get together, but I love 'em. My favorite kind of party. I wish I could hold one here, but I fear with our one bathroom, there would be a line down the stairs of people who needed to use the loo. But still....after we get it all redone, it will be tempting to have people over.....

Plans for today? Dunno if we will hit the gym or not. I am finding our workout very boring now, and think it may be time to fork over some dough and have a couple sessions with the trainer, so she can reassess us and work up a new routine. I'd like to hit Home Despot and see what they have in the way of laminate flooring....the first thing we're going to do is the dining room. Then, we need to do the living room ceiling. Can't decide if we should replaster (which it needs), or just put up drywall and call it done. THEN recover the couch. THEN pain the walls. So visiting home centers and paint stores is the first step, I guess.

Latah....

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here