Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-08-15 - 4:31 p.m.
More normal now

Hi! It's me, and I am back and grumpy, just so ya know it is me.

What IS it with people who just want an answer, any answer, no matter who it comes from? TWICE this week I've had callers DEMAND I handle something that is NOT MY BALIWICK. I'm not against pitching in when needed, lord knows, but what I am talking about is answers to specific questions that have nothing to do with my job. Hello? The person you need to talk with is NOT HERE. I can't just pull an answer out of my ass because you need it RIGHT NOW. Though I was REALLY tempted this afternoon when the school district called needing to know the secret school cancelling word before school starts on Monday. "Um. Yeah. The word is boogernose. Thanks".

Idiots. calling the friday before school starts, and being annoyed because the person in the know isn't here.

Part of the problem stems from our volunteer phone answerers. They just wanna pass off the caller, to whomever. Today's volunteer walked in on my not once but TWICE when I was in the studio with the ON AIR LIGHT ON. Hell-fucking-oh?

Grr. How come the week was going so well, I was feeling mellow in my pre-vacation week, and then bang...Friday just sucks in a big old way. It's like you have to REALLY earn your vacation. Getting outta the office HAS to be a big test.

And I can't be away from Captain Freezy fast enough. He's on my nerves like some married people get on each others' nerves. I can't stand how he shuffles around the office. I can't stand how he keeps nagging at me like I'm a goddamn moron. I can't stand how he chews and talks with his mouth full. I can't stand how he goes around every day at 4 WITHOUT FAIL and closes all the blinds and turns off all the lights. Hello? I'm still here working.

God. I have GOT to get outta here. Another hour or so. Just get me through it.

I came across reason 457692386 not to have kids today. Because everything with kids becomes A Major Production. Holy Moly. I went into Subway to grab lunch, and there was a family in front of me. I am SURE they added another five minutes to my whole experience. I know, I know, I suck if I think five minutes is that big a deal.... But it was just...I'd kill myself if I had to get so trapped in the minutiae that kids require. What do you want on your sandwich? They don't have that. Ok, mustard? Mayo? What do you want to drink? yes, you can get it yourself. (and hold up four other people while you dink around with the lids) Argh. I couldn't do it. I'd be the meanest damn mom on the planet. "Everybody gets roast beef with mustard. Sit. I will bring your drinks. SIT."

Hoping all the power comes back on in the Cleveland area, since that's where we're scheduled to travel to tomorrow. I have to make baked beans to bring to the cookout. They are THE BEST.

2 one lb. cans of pork and beans.

1 C. catsup (or ketchup)

1 C. brown sugar

6 strips bacon

Put beans in buttered casserole. Top w/bacon, then pour on the catsup, scatter the sugar over the top and bake at 325 for 2 hours.

OK. Capt. Freezy is gone. The last hour may be ok.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here