Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-08-05 - 7:26 a.m.
Post Birthday

Well, the messed up back didn't do much for Birthday Fun around here. Since we were planning on spending the night after the out of town wedding Sunday, we both had Monday off.

There was a lot of sitting around doing nothing yesterday, that's for sure. We went out for "dunch", which is what we call really early dinner. Then we came home and a couple hours later took the birthday cake over to my parents' house.

The cake. Oh my LORD this cake. I had requested he get me a cake from this local known-to-be-outstanding bakery, and while the icing was white instead of chocolate, the cake was INCREDIBLE. Amazingly delicious. NOT your grocery store birthday cake.

So now, we have half a cake left, and I'm afraid I am just going to have to take it to work and let the scavengers eat it. Because there's no way I should be eating half a chocolate cake, with fudge filling and buttercream icing.

Even thought I'd LIKE to be sitting up here in front of the computer with the cake box and a fork....

My gifts were nice, too. Husband gave me one of those bathtub spa thingies, which was really quite enjoyable...it's just the thing until we get dream house with a jacuzzi. And "from the cats", I got a cat candle.

And the sweetest little sentiment written in the card from Husband.

But it's weird. Birthdays have always been kind of "eh" for me. Because of the location on the calendar...smack in the middle of summer....I didn't have birthday parties, because so many people were on vacation. In our family, birthdays are low key...a token gift, maybe birthday person's choice for dinner, a little cake. I guess I somehow want bells to ring and angels sing, or something weird.

And now...well...first of all, my birthday signals the end of summer to me...so bleah. (How could our winter have been so damn long, and summer is just flying by?) Secondly...I'm getting a little bummed by my age. THIRTY SIX. Holy crap. Closer to 40 than 29. In my brain, I feel the same age as our 24 year old intern. To her, I am ANCIENT.

Midlife crisis? Hmm. The age would be about mathematically correct, but I'm not sure if I'm in crisis.

Just really bummed by the passage of time.

(PS to LA--- you're the best...thanks for so much encouragement!)

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here