Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-07-29 - 4:42 p.m.
Stop! Thief!

Well, I emailed my nasty memo about food thievery. It pretty much says what I said in yesterday's entry, but just because, here it is:

TO: Volunteers

FR: Colz

RE: Food Theft

DT: 7/28/03

It�s come to my attention that there�s a food thief running around the building.

This needs to stop.

There is a sign on the fridge reminding people not to take food that doesn�t belong to them. This sign was blatantly ignored and food intended for call out volunteers (and marked as such) was taken and eaten.

Because of when the food went in the freezer, and when the empty bag was found, we�ve got a pretty good idea of possible culprits.

Simple rule: If it isn�t yours, don�t touch it. If you�re working late, or over a meal time, etc, bring your own food. There�s a vending machine that takes quarters in the multipurpose room.

When you�re given a key to the building, that�s a sign of trust. Don�t abuse that trust. This isn�t about a couple of pieces of pizza, some cheese and crackers and bottles of water. It�s about trust and respect. Anyone caught stealing from The Radio Stations, even food from the fridge, will be dismissed.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Colz

I even put one IN the freezer. No one's gonna say "I didn't know".

Of course, I don't think this will do a damn bit of good. Those who DON'T steal food will keep not stealing food. Some will feel guilty anyway, and feel compelled to tell me that it wasn't them.

And the person who steals food? Well, it's pretty obvious that he/she doesn't really give a flip, otherwise the food wouldn't get stolen, right?

Can someone explain to me why I have to explain TO GROWN UP PEOPLE the concept of "if it isn't yours, don't eat it?" Come ON. Isn't this one of the earlier life lessons we're taught? Don't most first graders grasp the concept of keeping their mitts off stuff that isn't theirs? Jesus. I think that's what really just frosts my flakes. And as my boss said, after I ran the memo past him "we don't need to be dealing with this".

Personally, if we can't take the purposely tainted food route, I'd be perfectly happy to change the lock on the kitchen area door, keep it locked over the weekend, and say tough shit, bring a cooler, to those who bring their own food.

Isn't it amazing how something that you would THINK is small and trivial is really much bigger? Yeah, it's just pizza, or cheese, but what it really shows is a fundamental lack of respect, it's a great big FUCK YOU. And we don't need that. I won't have it.

Man, I would LOVE to doctor some food. I would LOVE IT. Because it would serve the thief right. I could always just say "hey, it was my pizza, and I love it with tabasco and red pepper. Not my fault you STOLE it".

OK--here comes a subject change.... I looked around at our bedroom this morning, and my lord...it looks like a tornado hit it. I am not a good housekeeper, by any stretch, but this is looking like a homeless encampment. Perhaps I will work on that tonight.

Husband is going to the movies tonight, so we are on our own for dinner. Which means I am going to sort of blow the diet at Taco Hell. This calorie thing is sick. If I want to splurge, I keep things low all day long, then snarf stuff up at night. So the total intake is within the target area, but I somehow think my approach isn't the MOST healthy way of looking at things. I can sure see how disordered eating develops. Ugh.

Ah well. Baby steps, right?

At least while Husband is at the movies, I can catch up on all the stuff Tivo has been grabbing for me. I can already see there might be a problem finding the time to watch all the stuff that seemed like such a good idea when I was going through the list looking for stuff to record.....

Later....

Exercise done today: Weight Circuit

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here