Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-07-12 - 10:53 a.m.
Ah show biz

Well, I had a couple of nice weeks at work, where shit worked, and I felt like I was getting a handle on things.

That's over.

The whole damn week has been Crisis City, and no sooner do we think we have one crisis solved than a whole 'nother one crops up.

So Thursday evening, we finally get a new card installed in the magic computer that controls all the recording stuff. No more changing channels by hand. Whee! We're happy and relieved...the weekend is coming, and stuff will work again! YAY!

We Yay'd too soon. We noticed that we missed a bunch of recordings yesterday, and that we once again weren't changing channels. Hmmm. Then one of us checks out the computer and sees a huge error screen. For whatever reason, our "authorization key" has "expired" and the entire recording automation system shut down.

Oh. Joy. Oh. Bliss. A reboot served to get things back on track, at least until about 5:45, which was about two minutes after the engineer left. I reboot again.

And here comes the fatal mistake...I leave...after 6 on a Friday, thinking that everything is gonna be ok.

How the fates must have laughed their asses off at me.

We rented a couple of movies, and fell asleep on the couch around 11 ish. Went upstairs and got into bed...sleeping SO well, when the phone rings. I look at the clock. It's 1:15. It's the jazz guy, calling to tell me that one of the stations is broadcasting nothing but TONE. I immediately know this isn't something I'm going to be able to fix from home....the only thing I can do from here is get the tone off the air. So I did that, told Husband I needed to go in, and threw clothes on. Husband came with me...because that's the kind of guy he is.

Got in around 1:40, saw the problem was exactly what I suspected, and got things back in order. Set all the channels for the morning programs, so that if/when the computer crashed again, the live and taped stuff for today would at least be ok.

Went home, and wasn't able to get back to sleep until well after 3, and that was with the assistance of drugs. At some point, while I was finally comatose, one of the cats was being a big pain, and Husband put him out, and shut the door. Closed door coupled with the coma-sleep meant I didn't hear the phone when it rang again at 8 this morning. It was the Diva, leaving me a message that automation had fucked up again, and could I please fix it. It's always the Diva, with her Divaesque slightly condescending tone....

And how messed up am I? I can't shake the guilt that I slept through her phone call. That I wasn't there to make things All Better. That someone else had to deal with it. NEVER MIND that I was awakened and pulled from my bed in the middle of the fucking night to come to the rescue. I feel like that doesn't count.

You know, I've had more than one conversation with Ass GM, in which she expresses disappointment with the programming staff because we don't jump for joy at doing extracurricular stuff...we don't really WANT to make personal appearances at stupid little events. Her take "the admin staff has to do these extra things, I don't know why programming thinks they should get out of it". How about this? How about because my entire fucking JOB is one long "extra thing". When admin personell get trained so THEY can take the middle of the night, evening, and weekend phone calls, THEN I'll feel a little less protective of my personal time. But you know, I didn't see anyone else in there last night. I was the first person the Diva called, even though SHE IS PROGRAMMING and SHOULD be able to hike HER ass in there herself.

I'm feeling cranky and hopeless again.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here