Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-06-26 - 2:55 p.m.
Cruisin'

Not much happening this week, hence the lack of entries.

OK, not much happening hasn't ever stopped me before, but, whatever.

So husband's house closed on Monday, and on Tuesday, some trouble light came on in his car.

I mean.

We knew the car was going to need to be replaced soon...it's Buick with 125 thousand miles on it, for goodness sake! But we were kind of hoping that we'd get a little more time. It's had some major repairs in the past few years, and while it IS paid for, we had kind of decided that one more BIG repair, and we were done with it. Especially since Husband is kind of a weenie and hates driving my car, which has a manual transmission, his car is kind of the "travel car", and the Buick is reaching the "don't wanna leave town with it" stage. We need a car that he's comfortable with for long trips, so we can BOTH drive if need be.

Enter my dad, the Car Slut. I take after my dad. If I had money, I'd be Jay Leno and Jerry Seinfeld. I'd have a car for every day. I LOVE cars. Dad paid his dues, driving a 1972 Pinto for ten years. THEN he drove a 1981 Tercel for 9 years. So he has done his time in car hell. Two years ago, he decided that the Miata had to go, he wanted a PT Cruiser. This was when they were IMPOSSIBLE to get. He waited MONTHS. One deal fell through. He finally got one, and admits he paid too much for it. It's cherry red, and cute as hell.

Well, when my parents sell their house, they are moving to Florida. Dad casually mentioned getting rid of the Cruiser and either having one car (HA) or he'd buy a "fun, Florida car". So Husband and I casually talked about buying the PT to replace the Sad Buick. Last weekend, dad told us we could have it for 11K. This is a not quite two year old car with 14 thousand miles on it. Driven only by a little old man. Husband's been driving it for a couple of days, and likes it just fine, so it looks like we'll be calling the bank and getting the money part worked out in the next few days.

Now, my mom is a little annoyed, because she knows good and well that her car slut husband is NOT going to be happy with a car sharing arrangement for very long....and he'll go out and get ANOTHER car....long before they get to Florida.

I'm of mixed feelings....I know how much my dad really wanted that car, so I want to be sure he wants to get rid of it. HOWEVER, there's no way we could get as a nice a car with as many options for 11K....so we kind of want this car, so we get the most bang for our buck.

Anyway.....if we get it, I wanna put flames on it....

In other news, we met with our trainer last night. "How are you guys?" she asked. "A really mad exerciser", I answered. I explained what I've been doing, what I've been eating, and how frustrated I am that nothing seems to be happening....not weight loss, not loose clothes...nothing.

And she didn't tell me that I "must be writing things down wrong", or in any way belittle me or make me feel like...."oh well, too bad, so sad, fat chick". We say down and crunched some numbers, and she made a couple diet suggestions (mainly, eat several small meals throughout the day....), and changed up our workout a little. So we'll see what happens in the next few weeks. I hope SOMETHING happens, because this is getting frustrating. I can feel my muscles getting stronger, but my jeans are still tight.

Anyway....back to work...

Exercise yesterday: 15 minutes on treadmill

Exercise today: weight circuit

Pounds gone: 7

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here