Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-06-22 - 4:42 p.m.
What is a snob? Are you allowed to be a snob?

I swear. People just piss me off.

Of course, I may take this online thing a little too seriously sometimes.

On a BB I frequent, there's a thread about "what people are snobs about". Now, people aren't really getting what "snob" means, a lot of the posts SHOULD be titled "what are you an obsessive compulsive freak about?" I mean, stuff like "My food can't touch". That's not snobby, that's a hang up.

Anyway. I posted that I'm a grammar snob, I prefer not to deal with stupid people on a voluntary basis, and I'm a tooth snob....I think it is tacky to have a mouthful of rotten, missing teeth.

Sue me.

Well, some woman posts about how offensive I am, and someone probably thinks I'm stupid, and boy am I elitist, and some people don't have dental insurance..... blah blah blah.

Yanno, THIS is part of what is wrong with the world. You can't have any kind of standard, personal or otherwise, and actually EXPRESS it. I Because you might offend people. I would never actually SAY to someone "geeze, get some teeth, willya?" But am I NOT allowed to think that people should make dental health a priority? Oh yeah, I can think it, but I can't SAY it.

I'm sure there are PLENTY of people who think I'm stupid. And if someone chooses not to hang with me because I can't converse at their level, that's ok by me. There are lots of people who think and say horrible things about fat people How come the only people telling THEM how offensive they are are, well, fat people?

And here's a conversation I had about, well, stupid people, this week....and basically the idea we came up with was that for some of us....the more we learn, the more we realize how much we DON'T know. But there are lots of people who AREN'T educated (either self or formally....we're talking the whole "lifelong learning" thing) who think they ARE really smart, and have all the answers. It's weird...it's like....backwards.

The world frustrates me so much lately. It seems like the people around me are more and more clueless. The NATION seems clueless. And it's like no one is even gonna stand up and say "hey..the emperor has no clothes". We just keep believing this crap that's shoveled at us, and waving our flags.

Well. THAT was quite the diatribe.

Exercise done: 35 minutes/6 miles on the bike, weight training.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here