Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-05-19 - 5:05 p.m.
Monday and Money

My, my, my, what a very Monday kind of Monday it has been.

And it ain't over.

First off, the gardening experience of yesterday has left me walking like Fred Sanford. Yikes. So I just don't feel well because things are so hurty. (I know, I'm a big fat baby. Sue me) Then, work is, well, being work. The minute I came in, people are on me like flies on dung. (hmm. Not sure I like what that says about me....) I wish it wasn't so dang difficult to just sit and work quietly. You know, I know myself well enough to be aware when I need to just be in my space and not really interacting....but I can't do that. I can't withdraw on days when I need to do that, because people just tromp into my space and FORCE me to interact. NO. Don't you people know enough to stay away from a grouchy old dog?

When I worked in Columbus, I had a teeny tiny office....but it had A DOOR. And what I did on those really grumpy days was just partially shut the door...and that way, people KNEW that I wasn't really in the mood for silly assed questions.

I know, I bitch a lot. I wouldn't know myself if I wasn't crabassing about something.

In other news...Husband and I have been working with a financial planner, to see how we might best get our act together. I mean, I know the basics...pay off the fsking credit card bills. Duh. But still...I wanna know we're on the right track and won't be eating cat food. So we have our final meeting with her tomorrow.

But in the process, I have grown to understand why couples fight over money. He is rather...laid back about all of it. About knowing how much his company matches his 401k. About understanding his goofy life insurance policy (which makes up the bulk of his retirement fund at this point....). About bringing the actual documents the advisor needs to make up our plan. Money stuff has made me wanna just yell at him like he's twelve. I mean, he's got 14 years until retirement, and he's got the attitude of a man 25 years younger....sort of an "everything will work out" attitude. No, dude, not unless we work our asses off to come up with a plan to make sure things work out.

And I was looking forward to handing over the responsibility for bills when we got married....but I dunno...now I'm thinking maybe I should be responsible for paying all the bills. Just because I feel better about it, if I know what's what. We blow through money like no one's business. Our tax refund...gone. GONE. Poof. WTF? He has some goofy "system" for paying bills that leaves us short before payday.

I don't like that system, needless to say.

I said "OK, when we get our credit cards paid off, let's get rid of them. We just need one or two so we can rent cars or hotel rooms if need be." He didn't like that idea. "How will we pay for stuff if we don't have credit cards?"

Answer: we will have money because we won't have the fucking credit card bills. He really doesn't grok that concept. Now, in the interest of full disclosure, I have WAAAAAY more credit card debt than he does. A TON more. Enough that it makes my stomach hurt to think of it. But he's just....weird in the way he manages it. He's got a bunch of cards, and the debt is distributed a few hundred here, and some over there....and to ME, it makes sense to get one of those bazillion low interest balance transfer offers we get in the mail, transfer everything to it, and get rid of the other cards. Because at least that way, when you make a payment, you're actually making progress.

But whatever...who am I to talk, right? I could declare bankruptcy without too much trouble, so maybe I should just shut up.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here