Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-05-18 - 9:19 p.m.
But it's a Good Tired.....

We went to the Y today, but I think that was just redundant. After we got home, I went to work in the yard. I thought it would be a simple matter of popping a few flowers in the ground and being done.

Oh no. It grew much bigger. It turned into the tomatoes and peppers, then the flowers, then trimming, then mulching. Net result:the side bed, and the front bed. (I hope the images aren't too huge.) On the side, I've planted a bunch of lillies in the back (some even have flower buds on them already), and the front bed has impatiens. (I scattered some impatiens in the side bed as well) I think once the flowers start growing, the front bed will look nice. I bought two flats, and one was really enough. I found places for about half of the other flat, and gave the rest to my neighbor.

At any rate, I am EXHAUSTED. Gardening, especially in my weirdly sloped flowerbed, is just...hard. I'm just not in shape for all that squatting and twisting and bending.

Speaking of which...I signed up for a Yoga class at the Y. It's only four Saturdays, beginning this coming weekend. But if I like it, I can sign up for the next session, right? I have the flexibility of a saltine cracker, so this will be interesting. I'm wondering how I will do....I think I will have a problem with the relaxation part of it. I'm such a perfectionist that I'll be too pissed about my leg not going over my head to be able to relax. But co-worker DQ has been doing it for awhile...she LOVES it, and she's looking good. Not "oh so thin" good, but toned and relaxed good. Can't hurt, right? Hmm. Maybe it can, come to think of it....

In other news, I LOVED LA's entry for today on being a snob. I know exactly what she means. I turned in a neighbor to the city for having a car up on blocks...it's been there FOREVER. Of course, they moved it into the garage today..... But sometimes, all my ooshy gooshy everybody's equal stuff goes right out the window, and I wanna scream "my GOD you people are trashy! Get a clue!"

Speaking of which....The College Boys are apparently incapable of mowing their lawn. It's got all sorts of dandlion stems sticking up outta the overgrown grass. A couple more inches, and they can be cited by the city, too. Wheee! Call me Mrs. Kravitz. But I don't care. You can see from the picture of our house...it's not a palatial neighborhood, but dammit, we keep our houses decent and the lawns mowed.

Speaking of keeping the houses decent....my next door neighbor was working on her yard when I was out in mine. Actually, her whole family was out there....and it was cool. They are a big family...lots of brothers and sisters and cousins, etc. And they were ALL working...even the little ones. (not in some kind of horrid child labor way!) I heard one of the adults tell a little one that their little fingers would make it easy for them to pull the weeds out of the cracks in the driveway. And the way the kids were talked to...I dunno...seemed like some really cool family dynamics going on. The grandma was going somewhere and asked a kid something...I guess the kid gave some kind of one word answer, and grandma just said "say "No thank you grandma, that way grandma knows you heard her". I was boggled. There was lots of "please" and "thank" you....and these kids weren't being somehow treated cruelly or having their "true natures quashed". They were being normal kids who were ALSO being taught about family responsibility, and manners, and respect...all in one simple afternoon of helping Auntie clean up her yard. It was cool. And I just kept thinking what a neat family my neighbor has.

So anyway....my elbow is killing me, I have laundry to fold, and I am EXHAUSTED. Bleah...back to work tomorrow. Ptooey. Even ptooier because I have to go to the board meeting tomorrow night. The Boss pulled one of his passive aggressive "you don't have to come, but it might be nice if you did" trips on me. Translation: "If you don't come, I will be mad. But I will never tell you that before the fact". So I am going. But it will be a long ass day.

1 comments so far
LA - 2003-05-19 08:03:48
Saw the pics. That was an ENORMOUS amount of work! Anyone would be pooped. It's going to fill in nicely. I never know how to space plants. It looks too bare at first so I pack them in and 2 months later I have a strangled jungle and everything's stopped blooming. Hey, thanks for the plug! ~LA
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here