Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-05-13 - 3:55 p.m.
The fun never stops

I tell you what.

Boss is gone the rest of the week at a conference. My phone rang this morning while I was still eating my breakfast. It was the Diva. "Our demods are all dead. What do we do?"

"Call an engineer. There's nothing I can do."

"I got voicemail"

"Call again. This is an engineer problem"

So anyway...via IM I communicated with DQ and we determined we'd simulcast, and she told me an engineer was on the way. By the time I got there, he was pulling up with a replacement part. Seems our main amplifier thingy crapped out. Thanks to the engineer, we were back to normal in about an hour and a half.

Schwoo.

Of course, Ass GM had to get all managerial while this was happening. "What else can we do besides simulcast? Is there anything else streaming we can use?"

Streaming. Good lord. We aren't the internet.

So anyway...crisis endured and de-crisified.

I'm still embroiled in the feminism discussion. Women can be really annoying sometimes. There's one woman in particular who seems to be "sparring" with me, and she's reached the snarky comment stage of her debate. Whatever. What needs to happen is that non radical women need to take back the word. We need to get rid of the ball busting man hater, give me special privileges because I am a womyn image.

It's about opportunity. If I can't be a rocket scientist, let it be because I flunked out of rocket scientist school, not because I wasn't allowed in because I lack a penis.

And I must say, Rumblelizard said it wonderfully in yesterday's entry about MY entry.

And a big shout out to those who are coming here via Rumblelizard's page. Howdy.

What else?

Had to leave work in a hurry yesterday afternoon (right when my day gets busy, natch) because the burglar alarm was going off at my parents' house. I talked to the ADT people on the phone "can someone shut if off?!" "No ma'am , it has to be shut off at the keypad. The authorities have been notified". UGH. So I hauled ass out to the tony 'burbs to turn off my parents' false alarm. As I KNEW it would be a false alarm. They are out of town, their house is on the market...realtor set off the alarm. So then I had to meet the sheriff's deputy and assure her that everything was fine.

I hate those security systems. Do they really work? All I've ever experienced are false (and annoying) alarms.

Got the results of my blood test this morning. Cholesterol is ok...the good/bad ratio is very good, overall is 2 points high (no biggie), but triglycerides are high. I think it has something to do with insulin resistance, but can't be sure. My blood sugar level was good, which is reassuring. Anyway...more exercise is on tap. I should probably low carb again. I wish whatever switch got flipped the last time I low carbed would flip again...I did great at it, and, for the first and only time, actually LOST weight. Have to have blood tested again in three months. Enough time to make a difference, I guess.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here