Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-05-11 - 11:46 p.m.
Yes, I AM a feminist

Here's a little something for me to be annoyed at.

"I'm not a feminist".

Yeah, that annoys me. Especially when it comes from younge women. Young women who have never known a time when they couldn't get a credit card in their own name.

Thread is starting up on one of the wedding boards I still frequent, and thus far, I'm the only one who is "out" about being a feminist. Young women owe the feminist movement SO DAMN MUCH, and they don't even realize it. Newspapers used to have jobs listed under "men's jobs" and "women's jobs". Women couldn't work when they were pregnant...we aren't talking leave, either...they were DONE. My mom got married and wanted to change the name on her store charge card, the card SHE had under HER name when she was single....the card SHE paid the bills on, and was told that she couldn't be "M. Newname", but the card had to be in my dad's name.

The feminist movement fought so many battles for stuff we don't even THINK about now. I wish these young women would realize it next time they come back from the 6 week maternity leave and take lactation breaks.....you think THAT would have been possible w/o feminism?

Grrr.

3 comments so far
LA - 2003-05-12 07:32:14
Mind if I steal your topic and do my own rant? Like you, I have much to say about the way it was, the way it is, and the way it's going (BACKWARD). Yours about to pilfer, ~LA
-------------------------------
Rumblelizard - 2003-05-12 10:18:02
PREACH IT! When a woman says to me, "I'm not a feminist," I say, "Do you believe that if a woman does the exact same job with the exact same competence as a male counterpart, she should make the exact same amount of money as he does? Yes? Then YOU'RE A FEMINIST." Kids these days, sheesh. I think the Mighty Wurlitzer of the right wing has convinced many, many young women that to admit to being a feminist is tantamount to admitting to being a hairy-legged bulldyke who will snap a man's head off if he dares to open the door for her. It's sad, and it's bullshit, and I think I might just write a rant about this today, too. If you don't mind. :) Thanks for stopping by!
-------------------------------
lorster - 2003-05-13 11:11:27
AMEN! Great entry. Thanks for adding me to your faves, and I will most certainly be back for more of your stuff!!
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here