Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-04-28 - 11:12 p.m.
Monday Musings

So, LA brings up good points in her comments on yesterday's entry. Why DON'T I just go missing when I'm off work? Why don't I unplug the phone?

I dunno. It's probably the same overdeveloped sense of responsibility that has my husband hosting Sportstalk on Thanksgiving and her husband out in the middle of the night in the cold fixing other people's furnaces and plumbing.

I dunno about those two, but I think a therapist would have a field day with me on this one. This idea that unless I am there, all the time, available to help at any moment, I'm somehow not doing my duty or pulling my weight. Where does that come from? And how do others manage to escape that curse? The old Ops Manager would tell you that he was overworked and "overdedicated" to the place, but I never got him on the phone, and he never returned my calls when I left messages asking for help.

So...whatever. The boss is now in contact with the IT company we work with to get me PC Anywhere at home, so I can work my magic in the comfort of my bunny slippers. I know, sounds like another shackle, but having that ability yesterday would have saved me two trips to the station and two hours. (I live about 20 minutes away....so each trip is 40 minutes travel time alone....)

Today was very Monday. Weird things happening. Our part timer, who is trimming shows while D is on vacation is not too sure of the whole technique, and has deleted several of the original cuts in the computer. Which means we miss recordings. Sigh. I THINK I may have caught the boo boos, and we will be ok...but still. Just Another Damn Thing.

And in the Another Damn Thing catagory, we had weirdness with the SOSS computer....it's the computer that controls our satellite recording system. I'd sign in with the password, but it wouldn't let me do anything. A call to the engineer provided us only with "um...oh..yeah...that happens...you have to delete a file, but I can't remember what it is. Call the help desk at NPR". Boss called the desk, got voice mail. So during lunch, I was poking around the satellite system's page, and thought "Hm..wonder if the tech support page can help". And bingo...under the FAQs, there was our problem. So I followed the instructions and fixed our problem. Yay me. I also posted the instructions for fixing that problem on the bulletin board above that computer.

Then this afternoon came a total reboot of the Audiovault system....it's just been doing too many freaky quirky things of late, and it hadn't been rebooted for almost two months, so I figured I'd better do it while the timing was my choice, and not decided for me by a massive and inconvenient system crash. Reboot went fine, I think. Fingers crossed and all that.

After we got home, we went for a short bike ride and walk around the block before it started to rain. THe new bike saddle....awesome. No tuchas pain at ALL. Amazing. I would totally recommend to anyone thinking of doing some bike riding...get to a bick shop and buy a saddle designed for your gender....I can't believe the difference it made. Well worth 30 bucks!

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here