Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-04-19 - 6:36 p.m.
The phone is ringing. Wonder who it could be???

UGH. Another whine about work.

Phone rings at 6 o'clock. It's D from work.

ME: "What's up"

Him: (Heavy sigh) "NOTHING'S working".

ME: "OK--tell me what's going on".

I mean. "Nothing's working". I need a little more to go on, folks.

Turns out his two major problems are pretty simple. One is probably caused by a check box that was unchecked. The other...well...I could have made a typo, or the computer might have gone, as our engineer likes to say, "off in the weeds".

Hardly "Nothing's working".

THEN...the thing that just peeves the hell out of me...complete illogic. First of all, for whatever reason, D HATES one of our engineers with a white hot passion. It's Engineer P's fault any time something happens, even if P had nothing at all to do with it. Ready for today's illogic?

"I just get so mad because if P had only let us have Macs, we wouldn't have all these problems."

Boggle. Head explode.

Item 1: The computer program that runs the broadcast end of things, AudioVault, is only available for PC. Can't run it if you have a Mac.

Item 2: That said, the platform we're running it all on has been INCREDIBLY stable. Last time I glanced at the NFS Server page, it indicated that it had been up and running for SIX WEEKS. It starts counting over when we reboot the system. So we haven't had a major crash that has required a reboot in over six weeks. Knock wood. (Three, two, one....kaboom....)

Fact: 98% of the screw ups happen because of US. Because we put a space in a command line where there shouldn't be one, or didn't check a box, or made a default time too long, so the recording which followed didn't get recorded. The computer doesn't capriciously commit goofy little acts....the goofy little acts are usually us.

That said, I'm going in tonight and will probably reboot it all, just to be safe. Tomorrow is automation city, until at least 5 in the evening, and I don't want things fucking up. Though, truth be told, it would probably all be fine if I DIDN'T go in. In fact, I probably didn't really even need to get that phone call. D could have left me a note or sent email. (Not that he has ever actually SENT an email.)

And I still hate it. I hate that I get these fucking phone calls ALMOST EVERY WEEKEND. D is going on vacation for the next two weeks, and I'm going to have to work the next two weekends. On Tuesday, I have my half year "so, how's it goin'?" meeting with the boss. I'm gonna have a heart to heart. There's a lot of stuff that needs to be addressed. There's no reason that someone else (a coworker) needs to be put upon just so someone else can take a vacation. It's ridiculous.

On the domestic front, Husband and I got a lot of stuff done today! We cleaned this morning, so the house isn't nearly so pig sty like....the public rooms are fit for consumption, which I like. He's so great....I LOATHE vacuuming, ESPECIALLY the stairs, so he does that. We still have three pretty cluttery bedrooms, but that's ok for now. At least if someone stopped over, we wouldn't have to be embarassed for them to come in or use the bathroom. After the cleaning, we worked in the yard...he mowed, I did some cleanup from the winter...pulled up dead stuff and new weeds. We put down some edging for the front flower bed, and he enlarged what will be the tomato patch, and put some landscape timbers around the bed. So we did AOK.

AND....I went shopping. Originally, I wanted to find some spring shoes I could wear with my spring dress that I thought I'd wear to church tomorrow. No dice. Nothing I liked that was in any way practical or wearable. BUT...I found a couple of tops...one, a beautiful embroidered black blouse/jacket, and the other a beautiful blue silk twinset. One hundred percent silk. You know how much? Guess. Really. 100%.

Twenty bucks.

God, I love SteinMart!! And their fat lady clothes are really nice.

So anyway...I can wear the silk twinset tomorrow with black pants, and shoes I already have.

Catch you later....

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here