Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-03-20 - 11:39 p.m.
If you can't say something nice....

Then quit emailing me.

OK--This isn't going to be nice.

But then , neither are the people I'm going to bitch about.

I'm talking about the people who bitch about the progamming on our station. Here's one nastygram from today: in parenthesis are the replies I wish I could send. Instead, our GM will probably send a "thank you, you're right, we suck, and we're sorry you think so" note.

Dear Station Manager:

My wife and I moved to Yourtown in June. Having listened to and supported public radio in the past, it seemed wise to support a station in this area. The choice was between Your Station and Another Station. I chose You. It now appears that I made the wrong choice.

(Aww. Isn't that just too bad. Live and learn, bud.)

Due to schedule, I listen primarily in the mornings, Wednesday evenings, and Thursday afternoons. I base my comments on these exposures.

The morning program, in my judgment, includes far too much talk. In fact, the program could be billed as talk radio. Added to this is my observation that the morning announcer loves to hear herself talk. If your target audience for this segment is lonely widows, the chatty style may be appropriate. It isn't, however, for me.

(Sooooo? Not everything IS for you, assmunch)

As an aside, I find the morning announcer's speaking style irritating. I am reminded of a schoolteacher reading fairy tales to first graders. Listen for yourself. Again, this may play well with lonely widows but not perhaps with others in your listening audience.

(Again....Sooooo? And that whole "Listen for yourself". Yeah, we have no clue who is on the air. Thank god for an educated and sophisticated listener like you, who can show us the error of our ways)

The announcer for Wednesday Evening, when he introduces a new composer, reminds me of a ninth grade Latin student being handed a text to translate on the spot. And the female Thursday afternoon announcer, in many instances, is a picture of complete ineptitude.

(How about we come stand over your shoulder at YOUR job and point out every little error, every little thing that's not to our liking? Would you like that? Because that's what happens to us every day with pompous egomanical listeners like you. You seem to be suffering from what many public radio listeners suffer from....the holier than thou stick up the ass....)

I realize that our paltry pledge is hardly the basis for making a change in broadcast style.

(you got that right, idiot boy. I'm so sick of self righteous fuckers like you who think your 60 or a hundred bucks make us your whore. Contrast that with a donor I know who gives us, literally THOUSANDS of dollars. I've never heard a PEEP from them about how much we supposedly suck....)

These comments are offered, instead, as an honest explanation of why, in all likelihood, we will transfer our support this summer to another station.

(and I'm supposed to care, why? Take your 60 bucks and cram it. I don't care. What I can't understand is why, if we are so horrible, you force yourself to listen)

Yep. That's what I deal with. And here's the thing....it's all about bitching. And I'm sick of it. I worked a fucking FOURTEEN HOUR DAY yesterday, because there was a job to be done, and THIS is the crap that I get in my inbox. I mean, if you don't like it, DON'T LISTEN and DON'T CONTRIBUTE. Simple. But don't fucking torture yourself just because you want to feel important and smart when you criticize us. We get hardly any "Boy, I sure loved THAT" emails from people. It's all about how there's too much German music, or someone mispronounced something, or we said the war was about terrorism (hmm..we got THAT from THE PRESIDENT), or whatEVER. If you need to bitch, get a damn journal on D-land and go at it, but quit making other people carry that shit around with them, because it's not right.

Fucking listeners.

And if you've read this far....do me a personal favor...please....the next time a tv or radio station does something that you really like...that makes you think "wow, I'm really glad I got to hear/see that", or, "Gee, I'm really glad I could tune into them for the latest news from Iraq", please PLEASE take a couple of minutes and send a NICE email. Please?

2 comments so far
LA - 2003-03-21 07:16:16
Aww, Sweetie. It is always the cranks who make the most noise. If it eases your mind a bit, I DO tell people and companies when they do a great job. My alter-ego the Retail Avenger is just as generous with praise as she is a holy terror on the incompetent and lazy. I don't say much about it in my diary, the whoop-ass stories are usually funnier. Lots of "lonely widows" in your listening area? *snort* ~LA
-------------------------------
angryquail - 2003-04-03 22:44:48
the boyfriend: "And if you've read this far....do me a personal favor...please....the next time a tv or radio station does something that you really like...that makes you think "wow, I'm really glad I got to hear/see that", or, "Gee, I'm really glad I could tune into them for the latest news from Iraq", please PLEASE take a couple of minutes and send a NICE email. Please?" i love your show! too bad i don't live near canada anymore, or i would listen to it all the time. keep up the good work. i thought the above whenever i listened to it. (except the iraq part, since this was like a year ago.) the end. jon (to brave new waves) (from me) (because of you) (because of your friend) (or diaryland whatever)
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here