Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-02-26 - 11:16 p.m.
Why is the screen frozen?

Crisis at work today....but we really were kind of overdue for one. D crashed the AudioVault. It crashed when he performed this certain procedure once before....I've told him not to do that any more! At least until we get this particular bug worked out.... Anyway, the vault ended up needing TWO reboots, which are always a pain, even though they take only 5 or ten minutes. It's that feeling of uncertainty as the servers are all booting back up....wondering if it's all going to work like it's supposed to. So anyway....I did some cool file transfer stuff that saved a bunch of time, and fixed the problem, which, in the process of crashing the system also manages to corrupt a file in such a way that every time you call it up it will crash the system. (hence multiple reboots...) So I managed to save the contents of the corrupt file to CD, delete the file from the vault, and import it back from the CD to the vault. A process that in real time would take more than an hour I managed in about half the time.

Feeling cocky, I decided to try doing the same kind of thing with tomorrow's concert program, and, of course, it didn't work. There's file conversion that has to take place, from .wavs to mp3s and back and forth, and, well, I get confused! Normally, I would just stay and work on it until I got it figured out, but I had to meet husband at the Y. And boy, was *I* in a terrible mood when I got there. I wish I could get my ass outta bed in the morning to go...I hate going after work, because it just turns into One More Goddamn Thing I Gotta Do. Of course, I did feel pleased that I managed my 30 minutes on the treadmill, and did some weights. Glad when it's over. We meet with the trainer again on Friday.

Tomorrow is another busy day at the radio ranch. Hopefully, I'll be able to conquer that file transfer problem I was having, in addition to getting some more stuff done before vacation, including a War Plan to leave for volunteers who might have to make some programming changes on the fly if war happens. Also still to come is an email to all the jazz hosts outlining streaming regulations....they are regulations from the federal government, not us, but I have a feeling some folks are gonna be REEEEEEAAALLLY hot about it. The email also includes a volunteer "Contract" of sorts, which is LONG overdue.

The fireworks should be interesting.

Husband is sound asleep...he has to get up at 4 to help one of the stations with the morning show. UGH. I, of course, am rarin' to go, since it's 11:30...whee...where's the party? Might be a Tylenol PM night....

toodles

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here