Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-02-23 - 3:49 p.m.
Wanna see my clean cabinets?

Several pictures in this one....

Yeah. It takes a special kind of geek to spend her weekend cleaning out kitchen cabinets, being proud of it, AND then take pictures of the whole thing.

I need help...I mean, I'm just all possessed about the kitchen organization thing. Husband is out at Target now, on a mission from me to buy organizational tools. Here's a tip that took my mom 35 years to figure out, but it works great. Get a plastic dishpan to put all the tupperware and gladware in. You can stack what you can stack, you can tuck what you can tuck, and you can pull the whole damn thing outta the cupboard when you need to find something. No more lids and stuff all over. So Husband is looking for one of those, plus pasta storage cannisters, plus a bread box.

What I SHOULD have done is taken pictures BEFORE I cleaned. The Fibber McGeeness of the whole place is gone now, thank goodness. If it was expired, it went. I pitched a shitload of stuff. Don't care. Gone. I AM, however, in good shape with diced tomatoes,

as you can see.....

The entire second shelf is tomatoes and tomato products. Chili, anyone? That is the Stupid Cabinet...only deep enough for two cans, and only the top one is spaced so you can stack. REEEEALLLLY practical. Not.

Since I was going nuts with the camera, here's a shot of the kitchen:

Remember, the house was built in 1927....I guess they didn't believe in counter space then. The weird thing is, in person, it looks neat and not too cluttered (except the sink)...in pictures, it's hillbilly heaven! Here's one taken from the landing between the living room and kitchen:

You might note that there is no fridge. That's because the fridge is here, just on the other side of the wall where the apron is hanging:

Yes, it has its own little room. In 1927, lots of houses still had ice boxes, and they were housed just inside the back door, so the ice man didn't have to drag his drippy self through the house or the kitchen. There's two steps down to the landing, with the back door on the left and the basement stairs on the right. Downside is that only a VERY SMALL fridge will fit there. My parents have said we can have their upright freezer, which we're going to take as soon as we get a circut wired in the basement. My dad said we could have it as long as he "didn't have to lift a finger to move it". So I think we've lined up some muscles, and I hope to move it soon. Then shit can stop falling on me every time I open the freezer door. I've actually had stuff fall out, go down the steps, and roll into the basement.....

Let's see...what else, what else? Husband dug us out from The Storm. Here's our street:

Here's Haydn the cat, realizing how cushy she has it, living indoors:

And finally, Husband and I went for a walk this afternoon. It was slippery:

Going to make Mexican Casserole for dinner (YUM). Then it's the start of the work week. UGH. Good thing is, this is my pre-vacation week. So yay.

3 comments so far
LA - 2003-02-23 15:18:57
Oooo! Dead envious of your breakfast nook. And your kitchen is positively palatial compared to my new kitchen in the Hobbit House. I love the dishpan idea and will avail myself of it immediately. Thanks! ~LA
-------------------------------
Josie - 2003-02-24 00:04:46
I want your breakfast nook, and i wouldnt mind your street either, or your little cove for your refrigerator. I absolutly love old houses! oh by the way do you know any good wedding web sites?
-------------------------------
Colz - 2003-02-24 11:03:37
yeah the nook is cool. Too bad we have to reclaim it from the cats.... And I like Weddingchannel.com They aren't evil dictators like the other site.
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here