Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-02-23 - 10:13 a.m.
ACK. Blizzard. We're all gonna die!

This winter stuff can end right damn now. That is For Sure.

Another weekend where we actually had plans that got cancelled at the last minute. We were supposed to go to Indy for Niece I's first birthday, but with a forecast of freezing rain changing to snow, we decided that perhaps that wouldn't be a wise decision. So we didn't go. We now have about 6 inches of snow on the ground and the damn stuff won't stop.

We did manage to get to the uber cheap and tacky flea market before the weather got bad. I love these things...and I bet if you know what you're looking for, you score something now and then. I'm a cheap date...I think we spent 20 bucks on the whole flea market experience, minus our extravagent taco bell lunch. We ended up with a cow salt and pepper shaker for our friend J. (Same one I work with) She loves cows, so I thought I'd get this one for her....the shakers stack on top of one another to form one ceramic cow. While we were buying that, I noticed these shakers of an older couple in their chairs....we got them because they were really cheap, and we thought they kind of looked like us.

Came home, and I decided to make cookies...they turned out...freakish. And I can't for the life of me remember if I put brown sugar in them. I followed the recipe on the chocolate chip bag, but they turned out....puffy. I think my oven still needs some fine tuning. Still taste pretty good, though.

Also cleaned out a kitchen cabinet. My kitchen doesn't have much counter space, and there's not much storage space, either. No pantry, for instance. There is this weird cabinet that's only wide enough for two rows of canned goods...that's because the cabinet backs up to the chimney. And there's this other one, which I cleaned out today, that's kind of shaped like a big triangle. That's so you can get in and out of the seat in the breakfast nook. However, there's no good way to organize stuff in a triangle....

I threw away a crapload of stuff. Oatmeal with a use by date of 2000. An UNOPENED box of Bisquick that EXPIRED five years ago. Baking powder that expired ten years ago. (no, it was not used in the freakish cookies) Then I reorganized the three (whee...THREE) drawers so I gained a little more storage space. I think the two bottom drawers were actually flour and sugar bins....they're metal instead of wood. I took all the baking stuff...flour, sugar, etc, and put it all together (smart, huh?) in the bottom drawer. There was even room for the new mixer we bought this week. Then I reorganized the trash bag and saran wrap drawer. Then I cleaned out the triangle cupboard. (I think I might have seen some actual MOVING insects....but maybe not.) Next I think I'll tackle the big cabinet. There's so damn much snow, organizing cabinets will be a good activity for cabin fever.

How come organizing a cabinet or two makes you feel so good? I mean, I know I just devoted WAAAAY too much time to that rather mundane activity, but I actually felt like I accomplished SOMETHING.

And with that....I'll let you in on my guilty pleasure...."I'm a Celebrity, Get Me Out Of Here". I have stayed away from almost ALL the reality shows. I think I caught a couple episodes of the most recent "Bachelor", but I've not watched anything else. But "Celebrity" has kind of grown on me. And as much as I hate to admit it, I kind of like Melissa Rivers. My previous opinion of her was that she was a junior harpy like her mom who got where she is through nepotism. That all may still be true, but she's shown a lot of common sense and lack of divatude while out in the jungle. Alana Hamilton, however....yikes. What a whiner.

Oh god. New low. Sorry.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here