Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-02-02 - 7:48 p.m.
Weekend wrapup

Well. Quite the eventful weekend. I had no idea anything was going on until a co-worker called me Saturday morning and said "what's the station doing? There's trouble with the space shuttle". I had been curled up in bed watching TVLand and reading. So I flipped the channel, found out what was going on, and called the station, hoping D was there. He was, and after a quick consult with the GM, we went to NPR news coverage. NPR did just a splendid job, especially in the early hours, when no one was really sure what was going on. But the whole thing DID bring up a very good point/question....and that's how we deal with this kind of stuff when we are automated. I didn't know what was happening....GM didn't know what was happening...as far as we knew, it was just another Saturday morning, full of Weekend Edition and Car Talk.

Anyway....

Husband and I joined the Y today. Eek. I need to get my fat ass MOVING. He wants to lose some weight as well...says he's only got two pairs of pants that fit him, and they are his "fat pants". What will happen is we'll go work out, and after a week, he will have lost ten pounds, while I will be bloating up....

I just don't want to do the same thing I've done before. Join up, pay an EXHORBINANT amount of money, be really good about working out for a month, two months, then give up and feel guilty about the wasted money. I want to get something out of this, but I don't know how. First off, I HATE excercise. HATE IT. I don't feel better when I exercise, I feel more tired. Oh yay. Just what I need. Working out becomes just Another Damn Thing I Gotta Do, and I start to resent it. I'm hoping having Husband in on this with me will be helpful. At least we can go together.

Made a trial run dinner tonight. We are having friends over for dinner in a couple of weeks, and I've been stewing about what to make. At first, I was just going to do spaghetti and meatballs, (I make AWESOME sauce), but then I thought I'd like something fancier. So I started watching The Food Network like a crazy woman. So from three different shows, I came up with a menu....main course, Pork Medallions with Balsamic Honey Glaze, which I made this evening. YUM. EASY. But my glaze wasn't too glaz-y...was kind of thin. So I think next time I will cook it down a little more after the pork is cooked. I plan to serve with herbed egg noodles (got that from 30 Minute Meals.), and will finish up with Lemon Cake from The Barefoot Contessa. I think it'll be delicious and impressive "enough".

Later.....

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here