Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-01-28 - 8:53 a.m.
Show business....

Man. Not enough sleep in the world. My internal clock is whacked. Don't get sleepy till midnight or so, and want to sleep till about 10.

That doesn't work in the working world, even in my current spoiled situation in which I don't have to be in until 10.

Yesterday was monday all over the place. Boss calls me into the office to tell me of a phone call he's had with one of the jazz announcers. Now, keep in mind that these announcers are VOLUNTEERS. Announcer tells boss (you know, BOSS...man in charge. CEO. Guy who signs paycheck of those of us who get paid...) that he "doesn't know what he's talking about" with the attempt at making some kind of cohesive format in the evenings. Let me repeat that: The VOLUNTEER told the CEO that that he thinks the CEO is an idiot.

Welcome to my world. Volunteer also told Boss that he would not quit his shift, and we could fire him, but he "would not go quietly", he would write letters to the editor and make all sorts of noise in the community. Basically what Volunteer said was "I won't do what you want, and I'm not gonna quit. Nanny nanny boo boo".

I told Boss later that day that I am SO tired of having to work with bitter, disrespectful old men. And that's what they are. If I get that mean in public, I hope Husband locks me in the basement.

The sense of entitlement some of our volunteers have is amazing. Just amazing. This isn't a giant stereo, folks. This isn't community access. This is a real, live, working radio station, and we actually WANT listeners. And guess what? Those of us running the place, contrary to what YOU think, are NOT idiots. We're PROFESSIONALS who are spread way the hell too thin and shouldn't be wasting time on petty little tantrums.

Grrr.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here