Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-01-21 - 9:50 p.m.
Cold and Roe

It continues to be ass biting cold here. I mean, if it hits 20, that's as high as it's going. Cold cold cold. My skin is so dry I just itch all day....when I put lotion on, I swear I can hear a slurping sound.

I hate winter.

So my rant today has to do with the whole Roe V Wade thing. Our religious reich legislators are going to make abortion illegal once again. And if they don't succeed in banning it outright, they will (and have) succeeded in making it so difficult for many women to obtain an abortion that they may as well have outlawed it. Fetal protection laws, counseling laws...all sorts of laws designed to make it more difficult to terminate a pregnancy. It's bull, and I'm truly worried. Shrub and his anti-choice minions have been in stealth mode, chipping away at various aspects of the law, and pretty soon it'll be too late to do anything about it. Declaring feti as legal people with legal rights...how far back will we go? We're getting dangerously close to "every sperm is sacred" territory here.

If a woman can't choose when and if to become a parent, she is lacking a fundamental right to delf determination. My own belief is that if ya think abortion is wrong, then don't have one. And the next time Shrub's period is late, and he's peeing on a stick and making deals with god, then maybe I'll give a little more weight to what he and all the other white men have to say about the rightness and wrongness of abortion.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here