Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-01-16 - 8:32 a.m.
All workshopped out

Well, we did our Meyers-Briggs thing at work yesterday, and except for Mr. Tiny Shorts' TERRIBLE attitude, I think it was a good experience. He sat there (next to me, so I could feel the negative vibes and anger dripping onto me) completely closed to the experience. And ANGRY. My goodness, he was ANGRY. I still am not able to grasp why he couldn't just sit there and listen and open his mind to learning SOMETHING. It must be so sad to be so closed off, so padlocked shut.

Anyway, I came out as ISTP. Not common in the world, and NOT common where I work. I occupied my own quadrant on the graph. In fact, the facilitator said when he compiled the data, he was interested in meeting me and finding out how interaction with the rest of the staff went, because I was SO different from the rest of them. I felt a little vindicated a couple of times, as we discussed the differences. He pointed out that since nearly everyone else was an "FP" of some sort, my logical input was probably more valuable than people realized. (so nanny nanny boo boo) I felt vindicated when he explained that for introverts, a cubicle environment was terrible, and made us nuts. (Hello? Captain Obvious?) But it was good to hear The Expert say it, because it removed my preference/desire for offices from "geeze, what a diva" to "Oh. She's not being difficult, she NEEDS that quiet". Even Drama Queen and I made some headway in understanding each other.

After the workshop, I took TWO voice mails from jazz hosts who are not happy with our format "tightening" and are quitting. One was gracious and kind. I am hoping to work with him to find another spot where he can play the music he plays. The other was contrary and argumentative. As far as I'm concerned, he can go jump in the lake. "Well, if you're gonna tell me what to play, I'm gonna have to leave. I'll just shop myself around town, and find some place else". And I actually said "well. Good luck finding a place that won't tell you what to play, because they don't exist". I mean. We aren't saying "Play this song now, followed by this song", we're saying "choose from these songs, no smooth jazz or urban, please". Criminy. In commercial radio, they choose the songs, AND tell you what to say after each one. And the guy isn't that good on air. So good luck to him. Guess what? We're the only game in town, and ya gotta play by our rules.

Which is what I don't understand. I was on the phone with this guy, thinking "why am I even HAVING this conversation? WHY are they arguing with us, pulling this "I'll do what I want" crap? Do they not know what volunteer means? Did they forget that, oh, we're actually IN CHARGE here? Angry host has already told me he's going to write about this in his column in the local minority paper. Fine. Cool. You do that. He came thisclose to putting down the race card, and that pisses me off royally. I mean, sometimes, people probably treat him in a way he feels is "bad" or "unfair" because he's damn difficult to work with. And that has nothing to do with his race/ethnicity/whatever. He's a butt, plain and simple.

Oh whee. I get to go back there!

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here