Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-01-11 - 2:27 p.m.
Deep Thought

Husband just IMd me to tell me that a colleague of his died today. Always shocking, I think, especially when Husband spoke with him about some spots (commercials) last week. This guy had his own production house and was one of the most used voices in the city. I met him once when we were both voicing spots for the same client. Nice guy. In his 40s. What the hell? Husband said he had some health problems, but still....the idea of going from "working like normal" to "dead" in less than a week is....weird, to say the least.

But the whole fragility and uncertainty of life makes me regularly question how we as humans live our lives. We spend most of our time not with people we love and enjoy, but with colleagues, some of whom we can barelt tolerate. We don't spend our time making a home for those we love, or even for ourselve, we spend most of our time at work, dealing with what is, in the long run, unimportant crap. Why do we, the humans, the "superior" being, do this? You would think we of all creatures would have the intelligence and the ability to say "no. *I* am going to sleep in the sun all day, *I* am going to enjoy my life". But we don't. We've constructed this whole world for ourselves that most of us don't even really care for. It's all artificial, it's all of our own creating, and now, it rules us.

I'm so tired and lazy that I can't even bring myself to vacuum or clean the bathroom. I came home last night feeling as though I'd been beaten all week at work. Just. Tired. I have a mountain of stuff that needs to be done, the house is a giant dustball, and all I can manage is playing on the computer or watching tv. I'm so spoiled...Husband is out doing the grocery shopping right now. I have to believe that if my weekends weren't all about decompressing from my weeks, I'd be more able to care for things properly at home.

Well. I did do a load of laundry, so I guess I'll head to the basement and put it in the dryer. Yay me.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here