Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-12-26 - 11:57 a.m.
Christmas

Chrismas was fun. After a bazillion delays, my sister finally made it home. Husband and I went to my parents' house for gifts and dinner. Dinner was kind of a bummer. Most years, we have an amazing beef roast. Prime Rib like. I've actually been looking forward to it. And then last week, my dad says "Well, since your sister doesn't eat beef, we're going to have leg of lamb". Ok. There are NOT that many foods I dislike. I am not a picky eather, and picky eaters bug me.

I can't stand lamb.

To me, lamb tastes like meat that's gone bad. I even told my dad "ugh. I don't like lamb". (Hey--it's my dad...it's not like I'd do that at a dinner party!) I said "but I'll try it. Maybe my tastes have changed".

Well. They haven't. Yuck yuck ptooey. Cooking, it smelled heavenly. But on the plate, it tasted like spoiled meat to me. Husband made it through an entire piece, which, for a picky eater, is pretty good. I had about four bites. We both ate lots of potatoes and rolls.

Now. If you have read here for awhile, you know my sister and I sometimes have "issues". So I was feeling a little "issuey" last night. How come her self imposed "I don't eat beef" trumps my "lamb is one of a handful of foods I really can't stnad"? I mean, she doesn't eat beef for some...I dunno...mad cow type reason. (I'm currently reading her copy of Fast Food Nation...perhaps I'll stop eating beef in the next week or so...)But it's not medical, it's not allergic, it's not even that she doesn't "like" it. And this is the problem I sometimes have with Special Diet People. They make the rest of us have to deal with their quirks. And, frankly, I think it can be rude. In the case of my sister, she also pushed a button when I simply said "I was really looking forward to the roast this year." Not in a snippy way, not in a "poor me way"..just in small talk. "I KNEW you were going to say that! Geeze".

So I guess, we never get prime rib for Christmas dinner again. I hope she doesn't decide to stop eating rolls....

The rest of the evening was pretty fun...we actually played Yahtzee. Then we dug an old game out of the closet...I dont even think they make it anymore. It's called "Claim to Fame", and it's kind of like the tv show "25K pyramid", and kind of like charades, and kind of like pictionary. It was great fun, and even husband was having a good time.

Today, I am off work (yay!) and planning on a whole bunch of nothing, except perhaps playing with scrapbook stuff. I got some cool cutting tools, so I think I'll spend some more time on the wedding album.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here