Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-12-12 - 9:38 p.m.
Hm. I don't remember eating THAT.

I awoke this morning with a headache that actually WOKE ME UP. I don't get headaches, so this was particularly annoying. And I had to be up early for a hair appointment, followed by my visit to the oral sadist's. Hair was supposed to be cut and color, but I felt so crappy, I asked her to just cut and we'd color another time.

Interesting appointment at oral sadist's. My owie gums were already feeling better, and I was feeling a bit like a hypochondriac, but I went anyway.

They took a panoramic xray, and sent me into the exam room. The Dr looked at my mouth and said "something is in there, trying to work its way out...maybe a piece of food, maybe a piece of bone. We'll make an appointment for you to come in next week, we'll sedate you, and open that up and see what's going on". ("Wee, gum surgey," think I)

Assistant comes in with xray and puts it on the lightbox. Now, even I, a liberal arts grad, can see there's something not quite right. It looks like there's a twist tie, or a bent paper clip EXACTLY where my problem is. For a brief moment, I thought "when did I eat a twist tie??". The Dr looked at it and said "someone left a dressing in" and promptly looked at my chart to see just which of his partners was the culprit. (The dressings they use for dry socket have some kind of strip in them that can be picked up by xray....for PRECISELY this reason) I'm not sure HOW the thing got left in there...I mean, there were two holes that were packed, there needed to be two dressings that came out each time, unless someone put two in one time and didn't know it.

Anyway, he took it out RIGHT THEN (ick) and prescribed Cleocin for ten days, an antibacterial rinse, and a follow up appointment in a week.

Just ICK. That thing was in there for almost SIX MONTHS, and my poor immune system was trying and trying to get rid of it! I'm beginning to wonder if this might be the reason I've felt crappy of late....not exactly sick, but not well, either. I looked up Cleocin, and it's pretty powerful, and I'm on a pretty decent dose of it.

So anyway....that's my adventure for the day. At least I DON'T have to have gum surgery, and the swelling already seems to be going down.

Came home tonight to discover that Husband had put up Christmas lights along the front porch. They look great.

AudioVault guy left today....new vault seems to be working pretty much ok. One daily task that I have that did take anywhere from 30-45 minutes took me FIVE today. Whee!

SO tired tonight. Don't want to miss ER, but I just don't feel well. Must sleep.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here