Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-12-08 - 10:17 p.m.
The usual weekend and sick chicken

Today doesn't go on the list of good Sundays. Before ten this morning, the phone had rung several times, for both of us. Good lord. We actually didn't hear the first one, at just after 8, when it was for me, telling me that the stations were off the air. Now, why we didn't hear it, I have no idea, because we were awake about 15 minutes later. I went down to feed the cats, and discovered a message. I went back upstairs to turn on the radio, and discovered that we were back on the air. So I eventually called my boss, who had gone in, and talked him through a couple of things. Seems there was some kind of computer failure that led to the problem. Am a wee bit irritated with said boss, because he didn't actually FIX the problem, he just jerry rigged the solution, and in the process missed spots, which won't make our traffic and billing person very happy. I later had to talk another co-worker through a server reboot, and since I haven't heard from anyone again, I assume that solved the problem.

In other news....we had dinner with my folks last night....my dad cooked one of my favorites, chicken parmigana. I was happily munching along when I thought "Hmm. This chicken I'm chewing doesn't FEEL right..." At first I thought it was a piece of fat, then my brain kicked in and went "noooo, I think it's not cooked!" I spit it out and found that the rest of my portion wasn't fully cooked. We can't figure out how this happened. Everyone ELSE'S chicken was cooked. It had been breaded and browned before being put in the oven at 375 for 20 minutes, but my piece was DEFINITELY NOT cooked. Just the concept of raw chicken almost made me throw up.....I don't like to even handle the stuff. And, of course, raw chicken is like radioactive waste as far as its ability to poison a person. So now I feel like a ticking chicken time bomb. I'm just waiting to get sick. I checked the web...some food borne illnesses don't show up for up to TEN DAYS after exposure. I'm sure my paranoia is part of the reason I feel kind of icky. And when you have IBS, you never know what's food poisoning and what's just another day....

Tick tock tick tock.....

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here