Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-11-12 - 7:36 a.m.
Ack! He's working against me!

Further discussion with co worker Tiny Shorts has helped me conclude that most of our problems over the weekend were caused because he knows enough to be dangerous when it comes to the broadcast computers.

So how do I deal with THAT? I mean, we all make mistakes, right? I sure do. But...but...it's just really hard when it seems like co workers are working against you. And his lack of a real grasp of how things work just boggles me. I mean, I don't understand how a person can not pick up some of this information just by osmosis. "Well, I don't understand why if station X was off the air, it took station Y, too". My answer: "Because at that time, station Y is set to simulcast Station X. So if there's nothing on X, there won't be anything on Y" Answer: "Ohhhhhh".

Head. Bang. Wall.

The engineer had to reboot the server over the weekend....he didn't load the automation playlist when he was done. So TS loaded....something. What he loaded was a RECORD list. And one would think, if one LOOKED at it, it would look wrong, especially since the first line says something like "Record list for Saturday". Didn't he look? Didn't he CARE? As he told me the problems that unfolded over the weekend, it became apparent to me that there were little "warning problems" before the giant crash of Sunday morning. And paying attention to any of those would have avoided the big catastrophe. But he didn't. He probably muttered something about "stupid computers" and went about his business.

As I said...I'm at a loss...everyone makes mistakes, but sometimes his lack of awareness is just mind boggling.

Up a little early today because I have a hair appointment. Kind of sad when an 8:45 appointment actually makes me arise at time that is, for me, painfully early. All I want to do is sleep. Forever. Not enough sleep in the world right now. Curiously, I am only exhausted in the morning and during the day. At night, I'm ok.

Till later....

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here