Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-11-10 - 11:34 a.m.
Weekend? There was a weekend?

Phone rang at 8 this morning. Both stations. Off the air. I coached the gospel host through getting one back on the air, and went screaming into the office. We were already up, because we WERE going to go to church. I told Husband to go w/o me, but he came with me to the station instead.

Problem was human error (not mine) compounded by some freaky computer thing, which required a server reboot. My boss called while I was there putting out fires, and we chatted briefly. I may still have to go in this evening...not sure, he will call me.

In case you are scoring at home, that's a disaster and a phone call yesterday, and a disaster, a phone call and one, maybe two, trips in today.

I ask you. Is this a weekend? Is this any way to HAVE a weekend? While I was frantically throwing on any old clothes this morning, I told Husband "You know what's going to happen don't you? This is going to happen one too many times, and I am going to fucking quit in a huff and just walk out. Then where will we be?"

Really truly, is this how work is supposed to be? Is this how everyone lives, when they leave work they are still at the place's beck and call? Because that just doesn't seem right. I don't get anything extra for taking calls and coming in. It is RADIO, for god's sake, not brain surgery. And the thing is, NO ONE ELSE could have figured out how to get things back in business. NO ONE. Not the Drama Queen, not the Diva, not the GM. The engineer, maybe, if he could figure out how to get the right playlist loaded, and I probably could have talked Tiny Shorts through it if I had to. NO ONE ELSE.

I know people must be sick of reading my pissing and moaning about this job. But really.....don't most people get to have a weekend? Don't most people get to not deal with work when they aren't there?

So. Which two days do I get to take off during the week, since I didn't have a weekend? AHAHAHAHA

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here