Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-11-09 - 9:56 a.m.
ahh the weekend

Bad water karma around here. Husband came home last night after going to check on the work being done at his old place to report that his water heater is now leaking. Argh. He went over this morning to find more water. At least the people working on the place are plumbers....he left a message with the plumber about what's going on.

But he's decided not to go to his football game today. And what's weird is, I have mixed feelings about that! I mean, in general, I don't like him being gone so long, I worry about all the driving, I'd rather he be here so we can spend time together, something we don't get a lot of during the work week. But then when he called and said he wasn't going, I was bummed. For him, because I know he really does like the games. As for me, well, I guess it's like I got myself all mentally set up for being alone today, kinda mapped out what I was and wasn't going to do, counting on being alone for much of the time.

Silly, really. I have a girly lunch scheduled with my friend J The Artist, and it's not like he's going to say "well, now I'm home, you can't go!"

HAHAHA. We would both fall down laughing at that one.

So...I think my plans will stay pretty much the same. Some laundry, maybe clean out the fridge and find that dead thing once and for all!

Work this week has been particularly soul sucking. While my former Work Spouse did an icky thing when he sent his poison pen letter to the board, I still miss him. Because he got me. I had a friend at work. I feel like I am back in 8th grade or something. There are all these alliances, and I'm not in any of them. Which is kind of ironic, because I AM the one who knows how to make the trains run on time. But I don't even have anyone to have lunch with. OK, that sounded pathetic. I didn't mean for it to. It's just that SOME social relationship at work wouldn't be bad.

Yesterday, for instance, as I was pulling into the parking lot with my Taco Bell carry out, I see K and M coming back from lunch together. M has worked there about two months, and I really like her. I only hope she can not fall under the spell of K. So I'm eating my burrito when K comes running back to my desk. "I have to leave at 2, so I need to record this now." Well. Let me just drop my lunch, shall I?

So. What was her big hurry? She had to leave to go up to her cottage near Lake Michigan. I know this because J (Also my matron of honor) showed up to pick her up. It was girly road trip. I had to drop my burrito mid chew so SHE could get on the road to shabby chic. Well, by all means.....

Everything is so personal, so cliquish. I hate it. I can be nice, I can be fun, but people don't perceive me as having any power, so there's no reason to befriend me. Again, irony, because I DO have power, if you look at technical knowledge as power. So I sit at my desk and get more and more bitter, because the only reason anyone wants me there is so I can take care of all the crap that goes wrong.

By 4 yesterday, pretty much everyone was gone. 'Cept me. I was there till after 6:30, because I still had things to do. Set up automation and record breaks for the weekend and monday. Finish the spot that K made me drop my lunch for. Finish burning a CD of J The Artist's program for next week. Figure out why in the HELL our show for 9 a.m. Monday didn't record, and try to catch the refeed. And oh yeah, since the boss is outta town this week, every night at 11, I get to update the station's web page. From home. On my own time.

Don't worry, everyone, I'll take care of everything. I feel like Cinderella.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here